December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Simple Ships

by Luke - Jam Entry

You are stuck in a universe full of war, terror and hazard. You have been sent on a mission of Recon, to see if you can find any survivors. You jump into hyperspace (Star Wars Reference) but something goes wrong. The dials and buttons are flashing red, and sirens screaming. You stop, and appear to be in an asteroid belt. You try to fly away, but some sort of gravitational pull keeps you in the line of site. You have to avoid the meteors for as long as possible, and try to escape.

How to Play:

Press SPACEBAR to change the direction of the ship
ESC to pause


How to Install:

1. Download my game from one of the links above (If the first doesn't work, try the mirror)
2. Save it to your computer
3. Locate the .zip file
4. Extract the contents to a folder
5. Open that folder
6. Go to the folder named "Simple Ships"
7. Open the .jar file
If you can't figure out how to do something, open the about.txt located in the same folder as the .jar file.


Please enjoy my game,
Have fun,
Love you all,
Luke
Enjoy


PS: You may make videos on this game if you want, and you have my consent to monetize them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#294Theme(Jam)2.68
#384Fun(Jam)2.55
#456Innovation(Jam)2.29
#476Mood(Jam)2.15
#511Overall(Jam)2.30
#524Graphics(Jam)1.90

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Hmmm, the controls were a bit unintuitive at first, but once I got used to it I liked it! This is a great start :)

What exactly was the play on the theme?

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:46pm

It can't read the about.txt when I chose the "about" options which makes it impossible to get more information. I have been unable to figure out the controls.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Good little game; I was convinced I was dodging cookies for a while. :)

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Fun game, but very simple. I also thought they were cookies. :p It would have been nice for it to be progressively harder.

LukeR says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Hey,

Thanks for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I may try to change the texture for the meteor, maybe not.
The part of the theme is that you die instantly and dont get a second chance.
I dont know about the problem with the about.txt, but I will paste it into the description now.
I did think of making it harder, but had no time. I didnt start until Saturday evening. Will do better next time, so make sure to look out for me in April (I think the next one is on April, if not, correct me on that)

Thanks
Love You all
Luke

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Fun to play :) Better graphics and more intricate game mechanics would make it amazing :)

LukeR says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Thanks, will note that for next time.

Thanks
Love You all
Luke

LukeR says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57am

Make sure to check out my new version!

Thanks
Love You all
Luke

PS: How do you change your profile pic? I am a noob at this website, it really confuses me.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24am

Pretty neat little game! I love those kinds of games where you don't exactly have direct control. Needs online high scores ;)

Lazdo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40am

Didnt really like the controls

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:09am

Well, it's simple and there are ships. The controls are so simple, but it's pretty neat how you can do everything with one button.

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:13pm

You only get one button to control the ship. Rotate the head and play it like lunar lander or some shit

LukeR says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Sorry, I now know why the about thing doesnt work. It is because of a fail in the packaging of the jar, but dont owrr, hopefully I will fix it soon.

Luke

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:03am

Very good use of the theme alongside the controls. Really easy to pick up and play.

LukeR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Thanks, will make sure to fix bugs.
NOTE: Everyone, please report every bug, even the TINIEST things to me so I can fix them. I like a clean game.

Thanks
Luke

LukeR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Current Users of my game: Please download the game again for the changes and bug fixes.
Thanks
Luke

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Took me a while to figure the controls out. But a pretty fun game!

LukeR says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:25am

Thanks

Luke

LukeR says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:25am

6 days til XMas!

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55am

Luke, nice entry. simple but fun, with clean visuals.

ploogle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:44am

Nifty little game! Would have liked some music though.

LukeR says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Thanks everyone, the reason there is no sound is because I cannot find a program to make sound effects that doesn't cost more than my house, or one that is so confusing it puts quatum physics to shame. If anyone has suggestions, feel free to tell me it would be greatly appreciated.

Luke

LukeR says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Make sure to post your High scores in the comments!

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Cool game! With some improvals on graphics, progressive difficulty and music this game will become great! I've liked how you used the theme. Good job :)

If you have time please rate my game! :D

LukeR says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:49pm

It has progressive difficulty, and I have re-drawn the graphics at least 3 times since the first version. Not going to add music, I am shit at it :O

Pomb says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:25am

No restart button? had to close and reopen to play again.
I think the hitbox for the ships is too big because I found that I died when asteroids just came close to me

LukeR says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:18am

Thanks for the heads up @Pomb
I will add a restart button, and fix the hit box. Please re-try in an hour or so and it should be fixed. Thank you.

Luke

LukeR says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I have done those things @Pomb, please re-download.
Luke

Luke says ...
Jan 8, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Thanks for the votes!

PineappleLime says ...
Jul 31, 2015 @ 12:50am

3 Years, and I have come a long way...
Be sure to see me very soon..

Luke

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]