December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOLO

by bobo_oh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I created this game in 3 hours, music and drawings
included. Your goal is to avoid stuff to stay alive. Works better with Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#212Graphics3.55
#245Audio3.00
#400Humor2.47
#683Theme2.55
#720Mood2.44
#901Overall2.45
#906Fun2.15
#962Innovation1.95
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Inso says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:09pm

HAha cool game. I love the graphics, awesome idea to design your game with handmade drawings !
The idea was pretty cool, the game is freaking hard but still fun !

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I like the graphics a lot! ^^

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I like the graphics

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:33am

I clicked on the link, the starting screen showed, i clicked/pressed a key past that but only blank.

bobo_oh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:29pm

JaymeeMak : Maybe you should try it on Chrome, I haven't try it on other browser at the moment...

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Graphics are cool! You scanned your draws :D I like it!

udo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:48pm

That was more fun than it should have been for such a minimal game :) Good job!

gre says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:55pm

hand drawing FTW!
Nice music and concept!
This game need decent controls though, you should not use key repetition for moving...

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I can't stay alive more than 2 seconds...! love the music :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:12am

Nice little music loop xD

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:26pm

dint work for me, but ill still rate you

glovecat says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Great and simple graphics, I just got 909... :(

f7f5 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Loved the drawings! The music is cool too. Nice mini-game.

[Btw, on the "moral" of the game: I like a lot of that "shitty stuff", and don't feel like avoiding it :) I always want to grab the beer or the guitar :)]

timothyolt says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:45am

great concept, and good job doing it in the time you had. better controls is all I would hope for in this game. and maybe a little list/description of all the "shitty stuff"

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:22am

Love the ballpoint ink aesthetic!

Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:23am

Wish it had more polish, but I really love the aesthetic.

Diptoman says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:41am

That was pretty cool. Great hand drawn graphics, and it's hard but fun.
I had to reload 4-5 times to get the game to work correctly though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]