December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Chance

by johnfn - Jam Entry

A tale about robots in love. Plays best with sound on.

There is also a secret ending! What happens if you miss your only chance?

This is a one man production - I did all the music, art, etc.

---

The cannonical explanation for why she can sometimes walk on air is because you are holding hands. (aww)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#4Mood(Jam)4.30
#4Audio(Jam)4.34
#4Overall(Jam)4.26
#16Fun(Jam)3.98
#22Humor(Jam)3.85
#57Theme(Jam)3.60
#63Graphics(Jam)4.23
#118Innovation(Jam)3.30

Comments

Ravetcofx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

This game is difficult yet it touches my feels. 10/10

allinlabs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Now that I played this game, I'm happier than when I started playing it.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:08am

That's totally true, awesome game.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

nice job! i like the feel of it

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48am

:3

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

great mood, graphics, music (!). loved it.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26am

I love the instructions for the z-key throughout the game. Really fun experience. Love the art, love the graphics, love the story. Very impressive work.

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41am

Man this game has a lot of great personality! Very nice job. I actually got really excited when I won :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43am

This game made me so, so happy.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Wow, this was very impressive. I really like the style of art and writing and the game was challenging but had a great learning curve. The music was great and the spinny snow-y particles in the background supplemented the whole thing nicely. Hands down my favorite game so far :) Well done!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00pm

This game is perfect. Absolute winner for me so far! So beautiful, polished, cute and fun, just perfect.
Too bad this isn't a compo entry...

minibutmany says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice work! At first I was confused, by I tried to fall in love with the cannon...

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

One of the most charming and enjoyable games I've played in a long time. The art and atmosphere fits perfectly. Nice learning curve that didn't punish me for trying new things.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:16am

Is this game about a robotic virginity? :D coz he jumping with her on platforms instead a bed... You know, this game is great - all 5's

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:15am

Hey guys - I just uploaded a small bugfix to fix a problem where the girl would disappear and never be found, which made the game impossible to complete, not to mention incredibly depressing. Thanks for the comments.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:28am

This game is sooooooo touching and heartwarming :') I feel in love absolutely with everything on it. I got a new favorite! I think we both used the "you only got one" in the love point of view :D

Nut says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:45am

This was adorable! I enjoyed it a lot.

ashen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55am

A fun platformer with an excellent take on the theme. The music created a really nice mood and the graphics were well done.

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55am

Definitely the best game I played so far. Might come back later to "find" the secret ending, too. I read somewhere that it should have won as a compo entry - I like it the way it turned out for the jam, since the extra 24 hours surely made polishing it to that degree even possible.

Also... I checked the timelapse... in one of your composing sections, it only took you like 10 minutes (not sure which theme it was, though). You've created good music at an incredible speed. Congratulations!

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:01pm

@X-0r Yeahh. Due to a sickness I was moving slowly during the compo and had to bump it back to the Jam. I really feel like I *could* have done it in 48h - but, you know, forces outside of my control.

The secret about the music in the game is that it was improvisational! I just hooked the computer up to my keyboard and played. If you want to make music as fast as possible for Ludum Dare, improv is the way to go, let me tell you ;-)

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This is really great! A short and sweet story about robots with solid platforming. Nice!

Alink says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:29am

Love the art style and the tone (dialogue and music). Nice work.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:09am

Humorous and has feels at the same time! D:
Standard platformer otherwise, a few collision issues here and there (the girl jumps to the floor position before she lands), but leaving that aside, this is really good!

vapgames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Beautiful game!

cesisco says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Lovely game, beautiful ambient and music.Well done!

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:50am

Wow, I didn't know robot love could be so cute. This game has everything, unique graphical style, perfectly matching sound (I just love how all effects are just different sound on the piano - a real one?). Perfect difficulty to beat the game without getting frustrated or bored... and her sweet Derpina face.

Wish i had found this one earlier!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:27am

The sweetest (and one of the best) games I've played!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:19am

Well done ! My first 5 star voting ;)

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Graphics and music are great! Interesting story, and it's very relaxing , but sometimes it's very difficult. Nice game.

pkenney says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:13am

Wow, this was very cool! The story kept me hanging in there through a lot of retries, and it was great that your retry loop was really tight so that it didn't punish me with waiting. Loved the graphics and sound - you really created a mood.

havana24 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:06am

The background music in union with the pixel art style makes an unique mood! Nice game!

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:43am

Awesome music and atmosphere. Loved it!

Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:35am

Charming little companionship game! Great graphics, sound and mood!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:39pm

That background audio piece is just too beautiful. It really sets the mood perfectly for such a touching and heartwarming game.

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Cute game. I love everything about this game. Graphics, music, story, mood, all were perfect!

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Poetic an amazingly well done. Good job.

goerp says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice storyline, nice take on the theme and told with a good sense of humor.
The nice layered graphics and the 5 star music make this a memorable game. And for a platformer that is saying something.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:19am

I like the mood of this game, the visuals and the music fit very well to it. I'm not sure if someone already said it, but the girl robot is drawn behind the torches on the wall (wrong z-index).

michail says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:17pm

The game is simply beautiful. Congratulations!

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Great job, very nice music, loved this one!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]