December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

the only one left

by cameron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

my name is cameron i am just about to turn 15 and put this together

it was suppose to be a dungeon crewel where you only had one life but as i approached the end there was no time for AI so i turn it into a exploration game where you are the only one in a dungeon

the story is...
after hell its self opened up and rained fire on the medieval land of raoff you rushed to the old mine that led to the catacombs. the catacomb was an old smuggler rought that linked up the 2 major towns. someone else must of come down here... mutant they?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#67Graphics4.00
#194Mood3.29
#517Audio2.46
#774Humor1.38
#872Theme2.13
#889Overall2.47
#948Innovation2.00
#967Fun1.93

Comments

VideahGams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29pm

There is not data folder, the game won't run.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

When I try to start the exe it tells me that there is a data folder supposed to be next to it.

cameron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

give me a mo im sorting it out it was working earlier

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

could not run! Only the .exe in the download

cameron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:23pm

problem fix should work

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

The visuals are good, but it's really dark. I couldn't find any way to pick up a torch, or any other object, which made moving between the extremely sparse light sources difficult. Upon reaching the water pit (and falling in), and finding no way out, I gave up. The concept is there, the visuals are good, but it isn't really playable. Good job on getting this much finished! I would definitely keep working on it and submit to #1GAM, but it isn't finished enough for me to vote on it here.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

The visual and atmosphere was outstanding, lost on the theme not sure what I had one of but very nice visuals.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

The atmosphere is done really well, like the darkness and the dripping water. One thing that put me off is that there is a sword in my hand, but no way to use it (I think?). Also some hallways are too dark, I found myself walking backwards (while looking at a light) just so that I could know whether I was still walking. Otherwise its so dark that you might be endlessly walking in a wall. I found the exit! Thats what I thought but when I looked around it seems like I stepped outside of level geometry. Is that supposed to be the exit or just an unintended hole in the level? :P

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57am

Did you really create all the models and textures in the 48 hours?

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21am

@Lacutis some of the textures were not mine like the metal of the sword but i made sure i was aloud to use them

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:56am

Great graphics and ambiance :)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I do like me a good exploration game. I really enjoyed just looking around. I'm sure it would of been stellar with even more time.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00pm

It is very dark, which makes it hard to move around. The objects look nice and the movement is cool, kinda reminded me of Amnesia :)

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Im so pleased that so many people are liking it as it is my first unity game a have shared with the public

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Controls are a little wonky, the movement itself is detracting, but the atmosphere fits the theme, and the game looks really good.
It might have been nice to see some audio to cue the player on how alone they are.
Overall, pretty good.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Well done on the graphics if they were done in one weekend!

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Beautiful graphics, a bit too dark around some corners though.

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Awesome atmosphere. Good use of the 3D sounds. I'm sure you learned a lot about Unity in the process. If you make another first-person Unity game, I recommend using Screen.showCursor=false and Scree.hideCursor=true once you go to play mode from the menu. Nice work.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:52am

I really couldn't figure out what to do with this game. Good audio effects though and really nice lighting. Don't forget to upload your source.

occash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I can't open this game(please, do web version

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Great graphics! :O
Finish this game please it will become awesome!

If you have time please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it :)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Nicely done, though I got lost in darkness... Can you attack with that sword?

Did you do all graphics yourself? If so then pretty impressive!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

I really like the mood you set with this and I hope you develop it further. I would really be interested to see what your original dungeon-crawler ideas would have looked like.

One thing that I think would be really beneficial for the player would be to lock the cursor to the screen. It makes the game a whole lot easier to play and Unity makes it pretty easy to do (http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/ScriptReference/Screen-lockCursor.html).

Good work, and I hope to see more games from you in the future!

Zephyr89 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

Did you do that sword by your-self? I remember something like this in the asset store.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]