December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Running Low

by littlefreak3000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A ship piloted by robots has been infected with a computer virus sending the robots mad. One lowly recharging robot is left uninfected. Now he is trying to survive with what little resource he has left. Using an EM blast which drains the charging unit of all his power you must use it wisely to chain together enemies and collect energy back from their explosions for another charge.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:17am

I've got install web player in the web link
And I'm sure that I already have it. :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:37am

Its using the latest version of Unity. Might be that yours is out of date? I am able to view it myself without a problem.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:38am

Also it might be that your browser is blocking page content. In IE I get a bar on the bottem that I have to accept. Chrome gives me a thing at the top of the page I have to accept.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice little game :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:31am

Thank you sir. My first crack at this. I'm happy with how it turned out specially since I have minimum art skills.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:40pm

I've got the latest version of Unity and all I am getting is a install unity link.

larb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:40pm

I had a bit of difficulty to get it to load in Chrome, but it works. (I needed to allow unsafe scripts, and allow plugins to run.)

It's a cool idea. I like the chaining. It gets pretty crazy. Nice entry.

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Couldn't get the web version to work in any browser, and the Windows version isn't working either (the data directory is missing).

Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:35pm

For the web player you have to allow unsafe scripts. Sorry I don't have a SSL key to make it so browsers will allow plugin scripts to run without it. I am fixing the windows version I'll re-upload it shortly.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Something wrong with web link

Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

Explained above.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:08am

Brilliant idea, the chaining concept works amazingly, and super strategic too, nice simple graphics too! Though enemies keep respawning after game over :D I'm a bit crap though, could only manage about 300 :(

loxo says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I like the game concept very much. The game is pretty hard though. My highscore is 316. It seems to be mostly luck, because it's not foreseeable were the next spawned robots will go. Maybe a bigger area would help or the robots could be spawned always in the same position with every new try. And I would like to have some audio. I played the web version with safari, because chrome wouldn't allow me to play it.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:20am

Thanks guys. Yea if I had more time I would have definitely worked out making the difficulty curve more reasonable. Your points per hit will double with each successful chains. So try for longer chains to score more points. The enemies do spawn in the same place with the same timing every time except the smaller enemy will have a random heading.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Interesting concept, pretty fun!

PEBKAC says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I first got the 'you must install...' error. Downloaded the Windows version and got no enemies. Tried the web version again and it worked.

It's a fun game. Core mechanic works well, though sometimes it seems that I don't get recharged by the EM blasts from opponents. Could use some polish.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]