December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Botboy Puzzle FPS

by apwolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey everyone, first Ludum Dare ever! I'm an 18 year old game developer and this was the first time school didn't interfere with the jam.

Super Botboy is a story-driven puzzle fps set in a strange futuristic universe. You carry around a bot named Botboy who has awesome, destructive powers. These powers are used to kill androids, solve puzzles, and break down doors.

Plot twists, fun puzzles, awesome dialogue, and great action await you, so download Super Botboy Happening now!

Important: There is no sound as I ran out of time and the main mechanic of picking up Botboy is really glitchy. I tried my best to fix this but it still causes some issues. If you run into a big problem, just press R to restart. I'm not sure if the standalone runs on anything but Mac so I included the blend file. If you have Blender3d 2.49b, open it up, turn off Mip Maps, and press P. There are some graphical issues in the standalone.

If standalone doesn't work, download Blender: http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.49b/

Before playing .blend (does not apply to standalone:)
- Look in the bottom button window
- Press System & Open GL
- Turn off Mip Maps
- Press "P" to start

Tutorial:
- Move with WSAD, jump with Space.
- Pick up Happybot with the Left Mouse Button (LMB is also deselect.)
- Go towards the door, Happybot with prompt you that he needs to hack it.
- Twirl Happybot around while he hacks to open the door.
- Look to your left and notice the energy field and pit.
- Back up and run towards the energy field, before hitting it, JUMP and press the LMB to send Happybot flying to the other side.
- Once he's over, the energy field will go away and you can cross.
- Deal with the android by passing Happybot through the electrical box and throwing his electrically-charged self at them.
- Once you have taken care of the androids, make your way to the far door with the "E" on it.
- Charge up Happybot and hit the door twice, enough to make it open.
- Place Happybot on the far side of the wall and walk all the way back to the door.
- Press the LMB to select him and pass him through the field towards the energy box. Hit the energy box and strike the android and the computer.
- The energy field will fall and you can platform over to the stairs.
- Get Happybot on the stairs, jump on him, and get to the next step. Do this till you are at the top.
- Place Happybot near the door and back up to the edge of the platform.
- Pick him up and carefully guide him down the hallway.
- Get around the pillars and make sure Happybot remains a distance from you.
- The bomb power-up makes Happybot explode, so lightly bump him into the box and without pause, run to the door on the other side of the room.
- Make sure Happybot is right at the door before he explodes.
- Use the next bomb box and run Happybot to the door you couldn't get into.
- Blow up the door and enter the room, you'll see the final boss.
- NO SPOILERS, you're on your own from there on out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#113Graphics3.85
#219Humor3.00
#455Theme2.96
#499Innovation2.92
#544Fun2.80
#570Overall2.93
#602Mood2.62

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

I need a browser addon or download from Mediafire, which takes like 20 minutes.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

Sorry Ambi, just download the browser add-on while your playing other entries! Wish I could make it more convenient but that's the best I can do.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

Windows link is Mac version.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Can confirm, Windows link is for Mac.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Can't open it on Windows or I'm too stupid to figure it out
? (http://i.imgur.com/CBMl18i.png)

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59am

I updated so that Web and Windows are the same link, I was unable to create a Windows standalone by the deadline, but you can still play the .blend file in the download on Windows (using Blender 2.49b http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.49b/)

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

Couldnt play, the Windows download had the Mac files. Hopefully you can switch it in soon!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13am

Augh. Throwing HappyBot over the pit is HARD.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

@everyone trying to get a friend to build me a windows standalone so for now, use the web version!

@Piscythe Good news! I just updated it so the pit is a lot easier! a lot of people were quitting at that point. Give it another shot!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

Cute and fun, I enjoyed this.

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29am

Fun, and the graphics were cool! Hard game tho.

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34am

I had some fun with it, well done for a first entry! I didn't get far though, it felt kinda clumsy carrying the cube around.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I like the style of this game, it's fun to walk through the levels. Sadly, the cube doesn't always stay in front of me. But I can see that you've put much thought in it and you did a great job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49am

The concept was great and so was the humor, but the game clearly lacked polish. There were a lot of clipping problems and the robots did not seem to do anything (they shot but the shots did not effect the player). My run ended when the cube clipped through the floor and I was unable to retrieve it.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:17pm

It would have been impossible to figure out the puzzles without your tutorial but this game definitely has some charm. It lacks polish but there is potential. Using the electric cube to kill the robots was satisfying.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:21pm

looks really neat, i couldnt really get how to toss the happy bot over the force field though

hasher says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:25am

i didnt understand at all the game :/

Harsay says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:22pm

It needs more polish. It's a nice game but very hard but because of confusing moments.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:03am

Hey! A Blender game! I already done one too! Glad to see more people using it!
I know that probably wasn't your fault, but my main problem is that is too hard to maneuver the cube, it bounces all over the place!
A part from that, the graphics are very nice and the cube itself is very charming.
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]