December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dan the Newspaper

by poingferret - Jam Entry

My first game ever and created with Twine, this was based on a dream I had the other night after a meal of bad enchiladas.

Thus, I offer no good explanation and only my apologies, but to say that this is a text and decision-based game in which a good friend is transformed into a free weekly newspaper before your very eyes, Justin Bieber might be responsible and you may need to enlist the help of Carl Weathers and a polar bear to make things right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1795Coolness0%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Classical way of games I like what you did there.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I love decision based narrative games. Great job, and I like the story too XD. Just a couple of feedback, make the decision as button, it fell more natural also if possible make the text happer one line at time, this give the idea that the game is moving forward

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

hehe i got diced by sith lords!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Nice, very funny!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:28am

So weird, beautiful and fun!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

I'm glad I got a live reading of this game at the meetup. I don't know if I would able to handle so much reading, but listening to it sounded really fun!

Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:13am

very interesting. cool use of twine.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:02pm

based on a dream you say?

what a great dream!

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:45am

Very strange game lol. It was an enjoyable Choose Your Own Adventure type scenario, with a lot of really surreal things happening.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]