December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Touch

by WhoaConstrictor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Touch is a minimalist exploration game that is designed to only be played once.

It is highly recommended to experience this game with sound.


UPDATE: Play the post-compo version with bug fixes and pretty things here:

http://www.npaavo.com/touch

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
Audio4.36
#4Mood4.47
#10Overall4.12
#30Innovation3.98
#99Graphics3.88
#180Theme3.48
#221Fun3.31
#597Humor2.00

Comments

Arcadiax says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Wow, very atmospheric. I barely noticed the zoom out even happening for a while at the start until I stopped for a bit and wondered what changed.

5/5 for style
5/5 for theme
5/5 all around

A big change to all the one bullet type games i've been seeing!

ming_tea says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:17am

Top marks from me. Very well done!

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Awesome job!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

Wow, pretty impressive game. The reveal at the end was nice, the music was really good.

Very interesting choice!

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

Awesome.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

Fucking. Brilliant.

(But seriously, loved that slow zoom out and twist ending)

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17am

This is great! So artsy, and the ending made me think, and I got a wonderful chill when the final tone of the music came along. This experience #WillBeRemembered for sure! Only drawback I see is the weak connection to the theme.

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18am

This was beautiful!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19am

Fantastic! I think this is my favorite entry so far.

I loved the zooming out, and I thought it was really great how you naturally and slowly discover that the impact of those that you've touched is greater than anything you can do on your own anymore. As the scale zoomed out I became progressively more in thought over the implications of the game and what it was demonstrating.

I was actually disappointed with the reveal at the end. I feel the "reveal" is too explicit in its interpretation, and there is more to draw from the game by leaving it vague.

As a side note, it made me briefly think about space colonization.

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20am

Bloody. Stupendous.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Love the audio and visuals! ^^

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Nice sneaky zoom out..

miwuc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Simply stunning.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

Wow... I... wow.

I forgot to words. No speeches... ... so incredible!

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

Wow, just wow. The feels, bro. Makes me want to change the world :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29am

Deeply touching, the art is clean and simplistic, and the music beautifully pairs with the feel you are trying to portray.
Beautiful.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:37am

This was gorgeous, great job!

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:00am

Awesome looking, great reveal at the end! I enjoyed this one a lot!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17am

The mood was really deep, and the music and gameplay very enjoyable. Nice

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18pm

absolutely gorgeous! the zoom is just perfect. one of my few 5/5 games of this LD!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Good atmosphere and game idea. But too short =)
Like the ending!

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Beautiful!

And strangely hopeful although I'm not sure why!

You only get one life, but you can touch and affect others who in turn will do the same.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

That was really interest. I actually wanted to quite pretty soon because i didn't get what I was doing there. I'm glad I played further.

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

What an awesome game, nice music and nice feeling. Great.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Awesome mood and atmosphere! I loved how the camera slowly pulls back to reveal all of the different threads. Great music and little touches like changing the background color over time. It was hypnotizing to just sit there and watch all of the different threads going off in their own directions. I really enjoyed this experience!!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Well... this is now my favorite game here.

Absolutely BRILLIANT.

Great look, sound, feel, mechanic, idea, execution... five stars all around. Reminded me of the game Flow, which is a good thing.

Really inspiring. Thank you!

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:37am

Wow... It ends so amazingly beautiful. Playable art! I liked it! EXCELLENT! Such a cool idea and implementation.

Manou says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Winner!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Great mood ... you could add more feedback when catching grey ball to improve it

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:31pm

The end screen is amazing :D

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Perfectly executed. Maybe you should add to the recommendations that one dust off the screen before as well. Got a bit hard to see towards the end.

the says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:56am

Interesting thing.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Really beautiful. The zoom and fade is almost unnoticeable but as it gets further out and dims more it has a really epic feeling with it. Cool.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Extremely touching, and I don't mean to make a pun. It was especially wonderful when I saw the beautiful crisscrossing blue and white paths that I created myself.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Incredible.
Beautiful, so full of thought and mind expanding. I took screen caps at the end to remember this by...
This is max stars from me for sure :)

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:51am

A game has never made me cry. This almost did. Bravo.

Beavl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:19am

Zoom out is superb. Solid entry. Congrats!

Katamori says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:39am

Deeply, truly, simply, symbolistically awesome! I'm speechless that you could put so many feeling into a game without words.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:44am

Didn't understand why the number changed at the end, but yeah, pretty damn cool.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:53am

I like the representation of human connections, and the widening of your perspective as you get older. Very simple and symbolic. Beautiful music and mood.

I can verify that the builds run on Mac OSX 10.7 and Ubuntu Linux 12.10.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:08am

I loved the music on this, it built up perfectly. I really enjoy that there wasn't any guidance and the player simply went wherever they wanted, it really felt like it built up the conclusion. Good work!

conormn says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:35am

Really great, solid exprience.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:53am

Wonderful little art game. Brings on the feels.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:48am

This was beautiful. Everything merged perfectly - he music, the simple graphics, and the fluid motion. And it all ended with a great message.

lilinx says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:05am

I love your game. Making sense with a simple zoom out...incredible.
I wish there were no words at the end and you had let me enjoy my own mood and ideas.. The visuals and most of it, the mechanics are enough to communicate your idea! Other people may think otherwise.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:14am

Minimal and beautiful

johnfn says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:19am

So simple and yet so beautiful.

By the way, you are a fantastic composer.

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:58am

Very serene, very meditative and a great message. Love the mess of paths you see towards the end, it's art in some way!

Feedback: The controls felt a bit erratic at certain zoom levels, e.g. too fast and jittery at close zoom and too sluggish and hard to control at far zoom, maybe make movement dynamic?

The music was great, but I missed some sound effects aside from the music, mainly of course when you touch other orbs.

The background could have a tiny bit of texture, or some particle effect to give you a point of reference when moving, felt a bit disorienting at times.

All this feedback is just so that you can continue working and make an ever better game! Overall, this was one of the best entries I've played!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Wow, that was fantastic! A beautiful and very powerful game with really good music.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Space , water , snow, stars, comets, life, in other of time what I thought about the orbs...
Timeless Game!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Very beautiful experience.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Fuck, this game is awesome.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:09pm

AMAZING. awesome concept!

neekobus says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Peaceful ! I love the slow zoom out.
You have to export and publish the path of each players !

turnA says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Touching... although I can't say this is a full fledged games, but I can say that my interaction with it is meaningful...

leparlon says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:14am

You should change the name of this to Overflowing Awesomeness, The Game.

Thank you for this.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very deep, really liked the camera slowly pulling back, and getting to see wider and wider trails / influence. Very cool! :) 5* for mood.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Really poetic and philosophic entry.
Our path cross the life of others, and all our stories make a unique and complex fresco.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:21am

Wow... this is more art than a videogame.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Great idea and implementation. The music is also great. Really good work!

anvoz says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Beautiful short game. The ending was really meaningful.

Anoarith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:12pm

That was so nice! Especially the ending :). Awesome job, loved it !

loxo says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:46pm

The game creates an incredible atmosphere, very calming.

eskivor says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

Very poetic, I love it ! Great job :)
To be honest, I think this game will be my favorite game I played for this Ludum Dare. 5/5

f7f5 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Linux 64bit version, please! :)

Tom 7 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:52am

A great little statement! I guessed what it was "about" by the end but it was still well executed, especially the music.

mcapraro says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:59am

really awesome atmosphere, the music and the visuals work really well together. i love that this is a sort of mystery, you dont really know what you are doing until the end. maybe a bit like life. thanks for the lovely experience.

havana24 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:56am

Simply beautiful.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This was really nice. The zoom out is a nice metaphor for your world view as you age. When young, you frantically search for new people. Later, you see lots of people around and you can choose which ones to pursue. Even later, you're aware of so many people in the world and you come to realize you can never touch them all. You scramble to touch as many as possible before the music stops.

The first time I played, I "touched 1 lives". I wasn't sure where the game was going.

I kind of wanted the zoom to keep going after the game finished, showing the network expanding in spite of your absence.

What was the significance of the occasional rainbow-colored trail?

recursor says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:26am

Love the music and how it builds.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:54am

Really beautiful and warm experience! When I was playing it, I was thinking about touching people's lives and then at the end I saw the message and it felt really good! You definitely got your message trough the gameplay which is an accomplishment by itself!
All I wanted during the play was that at the end to have the whole picture painted by all dots - and you delivered that!
What can I say except "a complete experience"! Thank you!

goerp says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:24pm

The music and the game go hand in hand in this experience. I think that is a big reason this game captures your mood.
It really takes you for a ride.

Niiiice.

Jishenaz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I think I was the only one that felt a disconnect with the game. I didn't know those objects were people. I thought they were obstacles, so I avoided all of them.

The music was very beautiful.

xhunterko says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:44am

Kinda almost too poetic. Otherwise nicely done!

Jan 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Yet another argument for games as art. Great job!

Deity says ...
Jan 11, 2014 @ 3:09am

Great 'game'. One of the most interesting ones I've seen this Ludum.

epiclink3 says ...
Apr 6, 2015 @ 1:03pm

am i the only one that when i try to download it it just sends me to a random website with no download or link?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]