December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

OneWords

by mckoss - Jam Entry

OneWords is a simple typing game. Type the missing "O", "N", "E" letters (in order) to score points. The faster you solve, the more time you get.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Theme(Jam)4.07
#89Innovation(Jam)3.40
#92Fun(Jam)3.40
#196Overall(Jam)3.25
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Nice simple idea have here. :)
Apologies for annoying ads in my game! D:

mckoss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39pm

That's OK, @BradleySmith - I'm sure some game engines force you to publish with ads on their site? The worst part was having to be forced to watch a pre-roll ad before seeing any part of the game.

Thanks!

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42pm

That's what I love. A good concept via an full exploited theme! You have my vote!

sprawl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

This is simple, but fun and it really fits the theme !
Quite clean too.

mckoss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Sorry so bare bones - my first Ludum Dare entry and I started on Sunday afternoon (too busy watching Notch).

My high score is 41.

sprawl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

This is simple, but fun and it really fits the theme !
Quite clean too.

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Simple but working... also the first inventive use of the theme I've seen :D

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Very simple, but fun and surprisingly challenging at some points. My only complaint is that the single-word timer would often kick me to the next word while I was typing in a word that had stumped me for a second, which often meant I typed the wrong letters into that following word. Other than that, I thought it was very well executed and a very clever use of the theme.

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I love the take on the theme in this one and had more fun than I expected working my way through the words. Nice job.

blasmena says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I enjoyed it!

mckoss says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:04am

@SnoringFrog - Good point. I fixed that usability bug by ignoring any false letters typed in the first 100ms after the new word is shown (sometimes you'll get lucky and your type-ahead letter will be correct and you'll still get credit).

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Actually quite challenging, with the short amount of time given. Really unique take on the theme.

miwuc says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:56am

So simple yet so much fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]