December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kuerbisroboter

by Jan - Jam Entry

Kuerbisroboter

Harvest enough pumpkins before your time is up, you only got one season.

You can't heal yourself, you only get one life.
So don't get killed by the Pumpkin-Zombies.

Featuring the Evil Pumpkin Farmer, his army of Pumpkin Zombies and the Potato Farmer with his duck.


This is our first time participating in LudumDare.
Game made by Ina, Karo & Jan.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#66Humor(Jam)3.38
#99Innovation(Jam)3.37
#159Fun(Jam)3.17
#201Overall(Jam)3.23
#227Graphics(Jam)3.37
#235Mood(Jam)2.96
#281Theme(Jam)2.72
#288Audio(Jam)2.79

Comments

paulopn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33am

Looks good, I wanna play it a little more before rating it.

Just a heads up before I do: movement speed seems to randomly change and, after attacking, I have to release the movement key then press it again... it's kind of annoying...

Jan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05am

You can walk a lot faster on the roads.
In the Help menu are some more hints about the gameplay.

dementor561 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:47am

i love it

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:53am

Fun game, simple. It works well. But I find the controls to be lackluster, having to stop and turn around to face your enemies, and no vertical attacking, the collision is kinda glitchy. But in general it is a fairly fun game.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Good game :) I will take time to re-test it later, but seems really fun !

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51pm

I will never be able to prenounce the title.
But I like it.. It's like Rumpelstiltskin!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21pm

fun, kinda crazy :p

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37pm

We really laughed for half an hour on the title :D I loved the game, really :D I'll play this for years I think.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Really very fun :) I hope the development continues. I especially like the fluid and cartoony animations. (Especially the duck!)

The only criticism I would have is, once a zombie gets too close to you it's very hard to kill them with your fork.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Cool game, kind of addictive. Does the Kürbisroboter actually do anything? Can you give him commands or something? I didn't quite figure out what he's there for.
And I needed to select the lowest difficulty setting to win the game, because I just never got enough pumpkins due to the rare occurence of seeds. Maybe I did something wrong, I guess. Also, what are the potatoes for? And can you spend the money on anything other than new plantations?
More questions than feedback, sorry about that. :>

Jan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Hey ShellfishGames,
here are some answers:
1) We had some really cool plans for the little robot, but in the end there were just not enough hours and we had to cut all of it. :/
2) You can can farm for pumpkin seeds by harvesting the fields while the pumpkins are still tiny.
3) You can trade the potatoes with the farmer in the east. Just stand close to him and hit space. For 5 potatoes he sells you a better hoe. If you already own the steel hoe then he will just pay you money per potato.
4) The money is only used for buying new fields.

No worries about the questions, if you got more feel free to ask here or check out the in-game help menu. :)

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42am

Hahaha. Pumpkin zombies? Hilarious stuff. Pretty cool idea and I'd like to see this expanded on more, but I don't really like the one life gimmick. I understand it though due to the theme.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:47am

Funny game, and great first entry! Cute graphics as well :)

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:55pm

It was fun for the first few minutes. The control feels a bit awkward.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:26am

can't play, mac

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:35am

Ahaha, I quite liked this game, enjoyed playing very much. Zombie Pumpkins and Potato Farmer and what not, had too much fun! And it was great, getting to choose the difficulty level.
On the downside, the controls and movement needed to be more solid, the button presses(aside from movement) only worked when the button was released. And the Kurebisroboter did nothing, though his voice was cool xD

runvs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:53am

Nice Idea and I really love the animations, especially on the duck. So Sweet! :D
The controls did not seem to work for me all the times instantanously, which is some kind of annoying when you try to kill the Zombies.

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I've loved playing this! Good job and the farmer walking animation is hypnotizing, really good! It's hard to play and has some glitches but it's really fun!


If you have time please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it! :DD

sorle says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:54am

i like the idea and the graphics alot!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Alle Macht dem Kürbisroboter! Funny little game. The hoe seems to be a bit overpowered and therefore makes the gun (sadly) useless. The dying animation of the pumpkin zombies is awesome. You should also fix the collision with the trees, it seems to be buggy if you collide with them and sometimes, enemies get stuck in them too. And I made a farming game, too!

Jan Marcano says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:08am

Very well done! If you make a post-compo version be sure to tell me (@AldianSolkai), I would really like to play it :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]