December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Radar Guy

by pavelzuk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bit silly game to be honest, but I haven't made a single game in around 3 years, this is a fun little thing.

Might seem a bit complicated at first, here's a hint though, it's all about the medals. You can't win this game. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#45Audio3.66
#193Humor3.08
#223Graphics3.53
#246Theme3.34
#302Mood3.07
#528Innovation2.86
#669Overall2.80
#920Fun2.10

Comments

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Doesn't match the theme at all. The only thing I can interact with the is the bed red button. Makes no sense at all.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Sooooo good! Really liked it. It's a bit of a waiting and gambling game. But the mood and atmosphere feels right. Nice one!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Well... it's slow but it looks good :-)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27pm

This seems more like a screensaver than a game, given that the best option is just to sit and watch. In terms of watching, it's got great images and sounds. The music is very fitting -- did you actually make that during the compo? Assuming you did, it's very impressive. :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Wow the stress I got for having my 6 medals :P, I was on the edge of my seat. What a game, only one button to press. I love the concept ;) Very interesting. The music add a lot to the mood !

mortus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I'm confused. I've spent some minutes trying to figure it out but I'm still not sure if one can play this game. Do I have anything except the button? Can I change amount of medals I get? Very moody game but very confusing too.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44pm

@crockid5: You only get once chance to fire off all your missiles. The theme is spot on. Great audio, nice graphics. A bit of a test of your patience. At least I get to keep all my medals!

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Doesn't much sense, but I loved it. 4 overall.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Lol, this is awesome :P

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Barmy and very light on interaction, but beautifully crafted and made me chuckle quite a few times.
It's what I imagine most Russian DOTA player's keyboards to look like.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Can be the beginning of a great game. I did not really understood actually. Audio and graphics were simply awesome however

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Right... I think this is my game of LD28. :D I loved it! DEFCON meets Dr Strangelove. I disagree with several others, this gets the theme spot on imho! There was a news article in the UK about a Soviet missile operator who got the red light to attack and stayed his hand because he thought it was a glitch. Scary times!

Would love to know the music???

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

haha it is a bit silly, I just dont press the button and let the world live! :D... a cool concept.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14pm

So confused but it was funny.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

wait, is the missile ever not nothing? lol I have just kept it running in the background for a while now lol

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Doesn't feel like much of a game, I must admit. But it was well done, everythign fits together nicely.

pavelzuk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

@DustyStylus Thank you! That article you're talking about, that's the stuff I got the idea from! Music is "Bach - Herr Unser Herrscher".

pavelzuk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

@TeddyNashor haha, a rather randomized game this one, gotta say I love randomizers. Once your "country comfort" falls, there's a higher change of getting attacked, so yeah, they will eventually attack. (honestly didn't mean to make USA look like aggressors.)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

pavelzuk: Thank you! I knew it must be a Bach of some sort. Will hunt it out!

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48am

Clever idea and good use of the theme. The music and graphics create a nice atmosphere.

tcarter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25am

It's amazing how engaging this game is with just one button!

kevinmylo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Very Dramatic! Had me on the edge of my seat!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Not much of a game but a good audio/visual experience

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]