December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

the foodcourt

by rosastegosaurus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

the foodcourt is a point-&-click game published for Ludum Dare 28 compo.
a guy wants to pick up a girl in the foodcourt & he has only one chance to succeed
in english & swedish
not for epileptics
made i gamemaker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Humor3.20
#799Graphics2.28
#895Theme2.06
#897Fun2.18
#914Innovation2.12
#957Overall2.26
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54am

hm... so the foodcourt actually IS a good place for kangaroos? but not so much for stupid pick-up lines?

i've been thinking it was the other way around this whole time. thanks for teaching me the way, rosa stegosaurus!

alchiggins says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:28pm

This game is rhinoceros.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:56pm

There's something really endearing about the halftone shading and graphical style. Hilarious!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:52am

Interesting, aha. A little shorter than I was expecting. I didn't really get the joke, but good job lol. I liked the kangaroo :)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:26am

wat

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice little game, fun to see it in swedish too, and I think it ties well with the theme!

Grafter says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Good little game! Well done!

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I wonder if the pun works better in swedish(?)

It's cute and funny. I wish there was at least one significant change between the options though, not just huh vs sigh.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Thank you Jedi!
In the english version there is just huh vs sigh answers that the girl can say, but in the swedish version she has different answers to almost every comment. I don't know why it turned out like that. Perhaps i did not know any good ways to answer in english.
i believe the "pun" works good in both swedish and english

psc1997 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Too much colors when I see dinosaur ;p

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]