December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You can only get peace

by Before Light - Jam Entry

==
UPDATE:
In the post compo version fixed the mouse controll, and added a menu, and dificulty levels. The freezing bug in the end also fixed.
==

About the game:
It's a game about simulating meditation. It's not a realistic sim, more like fun sim. With meditation you can controll the environment, like the city noises fade away.

The game mechanic is not in the game, it's working on you while you playing the game.
It can be beaten in less than three minutes.

It look better if you playing it offline.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Q+Y + Left mouse button + Right mouse button - Meditation

In the windows version you can exit with alt + F4.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#77Innovation(Jam)3.45
#174Mood(Jam)3.19
#200Audio(Jam)3.09
#299Graphics(Jam)3.11
#402Overall(Jam)2.76
#419Humor(Jam)1.74
#477Theme(Jam)2.12
#525Fun(Jam)1.81

Comments

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56am

Very nice looking!

weazen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06am

The mouse controls are very touchy for me

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06am

The idea is well executed. These are the simple games that I love playing and leave them thinking in a slightly different way then when I started. I rated a ton of games already, but this one is my absolute favourite.

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:09am

Nicely done.

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13am

Surprisingly relaxing. -____- I liked this a lot. =)

Recommended with headphones (my first time through I just used speakers), to catch all the little nuances in the sounds.

Also recommended is staring at the ceiling light (might only show on desktop version) and then spinning around as fast as possible so that the car noises swirl around you in living 3D. (But sometimes when looking straight up the camera seems to get "gimbal locked" or whatever that's called -- that was the only technical difficulty I noticed =).

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:29am

Innovative idea. Although it has little gameplay, but it gives player a nice exprience with mediation and it's effect. I like the part when eyesight strech and you get into a spiritual world.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Nice one, the controls a bit sensitive but gets to relax me :)

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Interesting idea and nice graphics.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice and relaxing, like the effects during the meditation. My workrave wasn't happy though with the constant button press :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice idea, I like these different games a lot, especially when they are delivered right. Only complaint is the connection to the theme being a little bit thin. Other than that, well done!

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Really simple idea but it was surprisingly calming. Liked the deep breathing sound that came up after a few seconds. Mouse controls were pretty rough in the web version. Good Job!

sadiquo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Very interesting idea!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:08am

Really nice idea, congratulations.

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:25am

I get what the game was going for, but the crazy high mouse sensitivity throws off the feeling of peace. My stream viewers were divided over the Q+Y button combination, but I think it worked. This whole thing kind of reminds me of LSD Dream Simulator in a good way.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:57pm

My only major feedback would be that the character (I'm assuming a human) controls like some kind of heavy construction vehicle. I think that if the controls were snappier and more human like instead of slow and incremental you could achieve a greater contrast between standing and meditating.

But overall - Interesting idea.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19pm

The mediationsequence was really nicely made. Got confused by the controls for a bit.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Never seen something like this before. It was rather interesting. good job!

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:42am

relax the controls please! heheh

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I'm not sure if I played this correctly.. :)

Before Light says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Thank alla of you, for playing, rating and commenting my game, it means a lot to me. If it says in the end you win, you played correctly.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very interesting concept, nice job!

euske says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:46am

I think I'm confused. Maybe I need real meditation.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Very odd, but nice and calming, definitely. I wasn't sure what to do at first but then I realised I needed to hold *all* the meditation keys, not just one at a time :L

iiechapman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:36pm

This is a very unique game, I did not understand it at first but as I sat and waited I thought I was going crazy but then I realized the the world was changing. BTW: I just released the Windows version of my game so you can finally play it!

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:49am

It's different, not a "fun" game exactly but more of an experience. The couple of things that happen to you while meditating are pretty cool and surprising. Not sure how it relates to the theme though. Nice textures on the bed and floor.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]