December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Uno, one

by s73ph4n - 48 Hour Compo Entry


You only get One. Or should I say only number One. Look closer there is a hidden world in the surface of that number! But this world is not infinite. There is a goal you must reach. It's not easy but it's possible.
Hope you enjoy the experience.

I started this on Saturday afternoon. This is my first Ludum Dare. So it's great to be here and I hope to be back.

Code, graphics and music : Esteban Moreno

INSTRUCTIONS :

Cursor Keys -> Left, Right
Space -> Jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Audio4.04
#113Mood3.48
#195Fun3.36
#247Overall3.32
#259Graphics3.42
#626Theme2.64
#882Innovation2.20
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I really like the opening transition. Cool art! Cool game!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Solid work all around and surprisingly addictive. The art style and music create a brilliant mood, it's raining with stars on you :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Wow nice this was really fun! It's really hard though, it took me a while to get to the first check point and I haven't been able to make it past those first couple of jumps after it. I also like the music and the artwork. Good game!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:35am

Simple but nicely done, i like it ^^
bit simple about the theme i think ;)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:40am

Pretty interesting game. I wasn't able to complete it, it got a bit tricky after the first checkpoint. The controls felt pretty spot on though.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:26pm

It was really fun, and pretty intense! I loved the art style and audio :)

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice game Esteban! I like it so much, nice job! :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Just another platformer in the end. Audio's the best part though, the way the sound effects complement the music is memorable.

Cbeed says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

The turning sprites did not really fit into the pixel grid and therefore felt somehow out of place. I also think the colors could be used with more care. Everything was black and white but a little red on the wheels. Audio was great.
You could get more stars if the game was easier or had some fresh gameplay elements.

lucentbeam says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Yeow, amazing art and music, and solid controls. I'm not a huge fan of jumping puzzles, so I had something of a hard time pushing forward, given the difficulty.

garygreen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Great idea. Loved both the graphics and sound. It haven't managed to get very far though!

Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Got quite frustrating at times but was a really fun little game, good work :)

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very cool, and pretty challenging (the part right after the checkpoint was a nightmare the first 30 times I did it). When I finally beat the game, I managed to do it from start to finish without a death. ^_^ Background music was nice as well.

Also, for entering something in the compo, you're also supposed to make the source code available, so you need to add a link to that.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Audio was great, and the controls felt good. Probably due to the art style, but it was a little difficult to tell if something was background decoration or an obstacle but I love the 1-bit+ look :)

d__adee says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Made it through the first checkpoint and it starts to get hard. xD

Specially with only 5 lives. Then it restarts again back to the beginning. I like how you made the "logo" the level itself, and that animation from the main menu. Awesome work! :D

Zener says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very nice! Specially being the first entry ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]