December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Wish

by Calciumtrice - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An illustrated story game about wishing and its results. There are ten endings but You Only Get One (per playthrough).

My first Ludum Dare entry. Finished right at the deadline, very, very tired so some of the pictures are sloppier than I would have liked and a few spelling errors have doubtless gotten through. It was written in Twine with art drawn in Manga Studio 5.

I'd recommend playing it online with the 'Web' link. Hosting courtesy of my kind friend Andy.

Warning: contains genie.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#21Humor3.98
#52Theme3.82
#63Fun3.67
#68Overall3.75
#73Mood3.65
#76Graphics3.98
#185Innovation3.43

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

Amazing I loved the idea all over, No sound but definitely is something diffrent from the rest.

Phil River says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

Great! Gotta love gamebooks! Moody and Humorous at the same time.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01pm

A million ponies I say! A million ponies! Great entry and unique. Think I will share this with my sis.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Awesome drawings. (I especially liked the the genie, when he "hovers patiently before you". Great work.)

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14pm

One of the most amazing multiple-endings story games I have ever played. Most games like this one SAY there is no good ending or bad ending, but when you either have a million dollars or fell down a hole, the "real" ending is pretty clearcut. And then there's this game.

All of the endings are good, all of them interesting, all of them hilarious... truly an amazing game.

Well done sir.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Fun adventure, would have like to have had more of an immersive experience with audio and more visuals.

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I love this idea. The one wish. Why didn't i think of this xp. anyway awesome game!

srimech says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Excellent artwork, and it was a joy to play.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Loved it. Loved the artwork. Loved how quirky and magical it was. Loved how I earned the djinn's respect by wishing for a mustache.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

Love it. You managed to really utilize Twine as a tool, and create a fantastic game out of it.

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52am

X-Files' Je Souhaite XD

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53am

At least I scream :)

miwuc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Brilliant! I just love the writing style.
Go mums!

My game is also about wishes but it puts you on the other side of the equation. Maybe check it out? :)

(PS: I found a typo. "Too cool four school")

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:09pm

That one was actually intentional, as in "too cool 4 school", only written out fully. I think I actually messed up spelling "regretably" in there somewhere though!

I'll probably try to judge some more games tomorrow so I'll take a look at yours then. Thanks. :)

miwuc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:11am

Ok, I wondered after posting this if it was intentional. Don't you hate it when people tell you that you made a mistake that was intentional?!
Anyway, congrats again.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Fun to see others IF people who use images in Twine!

Maybe a bit short.. Could've been fun with a few more passages.
But overall I like it and especially the gender take..

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I was aware as I was writing that I would need to draw a picture for each page and I had a time limit. More paths and particularly more variable setting and checking would have been cool, I agree, and probably have gone in if weren't for that.

Even with about a third of the pictures being very quick, last minute affairs, 34 pictures is a lot to draw in one day and I was working all the way up to the deadline. My drawing arm was very sore by the end!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Good stuff. I gotta admit, that's one of the cleverest "ultimate wishes" I've seen in this kind of story. Something subtle but still pretty freakin' awesome.

Ismei says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Hey, I really enjoyed this. I agree, all the endings are equally fun and I like your writing styles. The art was great too, even before taking into account the time limit.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice!

Stals says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:24am

That was hilarious. Really enjoyed this one.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:53pm

haha, very funny. a lot of replay value in here, but i wish (got it?) to have 1 more wish.. you know.. that alladin stuff..

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:45am

Friggin' awesome, I read all of the pages I think? I loved it :P Things like this always make me think "I NEED TO MAKE SOMETHING IN TWINE" but then I never do :'(

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Congrats on your first LD, bravo for having a lady protagonist. I like the art. Don't see much of that in Twines.

neekobus says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:15am

Fun ! I've managed to see all the paths.
And I love the happy endind (spoiler) : You are elevated to the status of cultural monarch and rule with a cool but even hand.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:53am

Great story, wonderful drawings and nicely developed characters . I enjoyed reading through every possible option, the moustache one being my favourite.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Fun stuff here!

laaph says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:33am

Ever so lovely!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:53pm

ultimate hipster game. too cool.

mystakin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Incredible writing. The only word I can use to describe this entry is joy. I smiled the whole time I played it. The justification for why the genie may only grant one wish is darn clever!

stigmawall says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:36pm

So many Twine games, and this one is very funny, I like it! Good job!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:24am

I enjoyed this one. The the casual writing style was funny and on the mark. Played through for a couple of different endings. :)

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:39am

Very nicely done, I loved some of the endings--definitely got quite a few laughs from me. I think the coolness one might be my favorite. Or ponies, I'm not sure. Either way, great game/IF.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Amazing humour and drawings! Great use of twine!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]