December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only one light

by Snuti - Jam Entry

Twas the night before Christmas, when the world all was dark,
Not a colour in sight, not even a spark.
With the snow slowly falling, so beautiful and white,
From the darkness appeared a brave, but faint light.

A spirited little flame only gets one chance to restore light to a colourless world. In just 4 levels, its your task to light all the matches swiftly before the snow puts your flame out.

Will you help him make his mark with his one chance?

CONTROLS:
Jump - Space
Move - Arrow keys and WASD

CREDITS:
Made by @snutidesign team.
Art by @wolferaven & coding by @ecker00.
Music by Thortrillion Tomsborg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#15Mood(Jam)4.08
#40Audio(Jam)3.78
#58Overall(Jam)3.72
#74Theme(Jam)3.49
#89Innovation(Jam)3.40
#92Graphics(Jam)4.05
#99Fun(Jam)3.38
#298Humor(Jam)2.23

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

wow! really really great! the flame and artwork of the game is just awesome. i could see it being a little simpler in the beginning to keep players hooked longer

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Very cool!
Music, graphic, idea, mood are great!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Beautiful graphics, good gameplay, well done. :)

Red Mike says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Really atmospheric! I liked the music and the graphics immensely. Gameplay-wise, I would have liked it if lit matches extended your life a bit, albeit that might have spoiled the mood. Still, I really like it!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49pm

The music and graphics fit the theme perfectly.
The lighting was appropriate for the concept of a dying flame. The melancholic tune made me want to prevent the flame from dying.

The jump mechanic was a little difficult to use at first. I'd also echo Red Mike's comment about lit matches extending the life a bit.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Nice game! I like the graphical and audio aspects of it. I found the jump control a bit complicated.

(spoiler alert!)

The final flight is really cool, I didn't expect it!

d__adee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I like the sounds, the art style and story matched perfectly (see what I did there? xD lol!)

Everything has to be perfect and timed. I like the idea, very nice. Awesome work guys!

Avichal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50pm

good concept :)

Snuti says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Thank you everyone for the nice comments and constructive feedback! :D

@Red Mike & @gnerkus: You do actually gain 1 second of life for every torch you light, just not very visible, should probably extend it a bit. :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:17am

Good concept and really fun, but too difficult for me, I can't pass through the fifth light U_U

Jeremias says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I played through it. The game's strength is the overall style and the mood. The graphics and the audio fit very well. Respective the gameplay, I have the following feedback:
- Add a retry button for a fast retry. I often waited for having my next try.
- If you miss one or two jump, it's all over. Did you considered to add some light to the flame after hitting a match?
- Add some sound effects! :D
- The burning up should start not before I make the first move (just for comfort reasons).

Good work!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:12am

This was great! Really disappointed when it ended so quickly (which is a good sign). Liked the Drift Bloom cameo as well ;)

chardish says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:05am

If you use the arrow keys to jump up, you perform a shorter jump that isn't tall enough to clear most obstacles, and you can't beat level 1. Other than that, cool.

bsowers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I had fun with this. Sometimes the jumping was loose and caused me to overshoot, but generally I didn't have problems. Mood was excellent.

stvr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:26am

The fifth flame on the first level feels impossible to hit! It took a long time. Still, really fun and a cool, simple mechanic.

Cipher says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:42am

Best graphics I've seen so far. Nice story, good mechanics (could use some tuning though or maybe I just sucked :P) adn really good polish.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:21am

Lovely mood. A few sound effects would have helped even more. Jumping was a little "touchy" at times.

jedt1201 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:47am

I really enjoyed the visuals and the sounds. These are probably the most neglected aspects of a game in gamejams but you guys gave the attention it needed and executed it well. The first level could be easier though as it's difficult to jump to the fourth matchstick. But anyway I hope you guys keep the fire burning :)

minibutmany says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Nice little game! This would be a great game with more levels!

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Pretty stylish graphic design, adorable soundtrack.
Level design is not as good as graphics is sometimes, but it's still attractive :)
Good job!

zatyka says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Lovely ambiance with the audio and visuals. I liked the ending. The difficulty curve was steep, and I was hoping for some more variety, but I still enjoyed playing it. I look forward to hearing about the sequel.

somepx says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Excellent entry: solid artwork and gameplay, loved the piano too! ;)

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Really really nice game : the music and art are great and super cute, and the gameplay is simple but enjoyable.:)
However, I think the scoring/speedrun aspect of the game doesn't fit the poetic experience you decided to offer.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Very nice experience! Lovely music and nice Idea. Maybe jumping is a bit too difficult.

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

Wow~I like it so much

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]