December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trouble In Town

by ALobker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

1 man, 1 life, 1 weapon, 1 mission: survive

Use WASD or arrows to move
Use mouse to shoot
Use ESC to pause

Linux and Mac versions can be compiled from source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#414Audio2.68
#498Fun2.86
#516Humor2.20
#651Graphics2.63
#670Theme2.57
#676Overall2.79
#689Mood2.48
#969Innovation1.92

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Really enjoyed this game. 3D top-down visuals were really well done, and the game is challenging in a rewarding way. Good stuff.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Pretty easy game. Felt like it was too simple - could have had extra weapons, different enemy types, powerups, or other mechanics.

cobhc6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Nice game, faster player movement would be nice though.

Opifex Ludus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I enjoyed this game too, the game was not too difficult or too easy, and i liked a lot the audio :)
Great Job :)

kratorspore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Not bad! The game would have felt a bit more lively if you moved faster I recon.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16pm

The best part was the intro sound.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Audio was very funny (and fitting!). Nice and simple challenge, though I would have liked more visible bullets.

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

My reaction time could be a bit slow due to sleep deprivation from the weekend. Also, you actually have arrow keys for movement as well (was about to complain that mouse + WASD is not really friendly to left handed ppl with laptop). Good graphics with nice sound effects though!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Ahhhh getting cornered when those blue punks are creaping up to you is pretty scary... ah ah ahhhh, cool intro sound :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19am

Kills: 42 (reminds me of Douglas Adams :) )
It is my best score from more than 10 games! Nice and very challenging game.

cacciatc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:37pm

+1 For the start jingle. Good catch phrase too:
"1 man, 1 life, 1 weapon, 1 mission: survive"

f7f5 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:29am

I really liked the audio :) And the blood. My best try was around 85 points.

Simple gameplay, on the other hand not much innovation there.

insane66 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:46am

It had a few skips when I played the web version. Its like it bogged down for a second then caught back up. Otherwise everything played pretty good.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

nothing new though. but, this mechanics works great ever )

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:52pm

nice enjoyable game. I liked the sound effects especially.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Gameplay mechanics were pretty solid although the player was a bit slow.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]