December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dodge'n'Run

by BillyTheCodingKid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dodge'n'Run

You are a government official running from the slow a$$ ninja assassin. -=BEWARE=- THE NINJA SWORD IS VERY LONG Controls: Up - Up arrow key Down - down arrow key Left - Left arrow key Right - Right arrow key

Also coded in lua.

Vist my site: http://fusiongames.no-ip.biz/files/other/dnr.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#947Graphics1.87
#989Theme1.67
#990Fun1.67
#1000Innovation1.47
#1006Overall1.80
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

The games is only 3mb and is taking forever to download. I suggest uploading it somewhere else.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

Consider uploading a standalone .love file for us Linux users! I was going to just extract it from the Windows package but the download was on track to take 12 minutes or so.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Sorry about that i might just post it on mediafire or some other place

DrooobE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

I was unable to play because of a network error when downloading.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

I braved this extremely long download time to get the game lol.

I really wish you hadn't made the sword so long. If the sword was a bit shorter and you added a few features (menu, restart, scores, etc.), this could be something pretty fun.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

I wasn't able to download the OS X version from the link here, but the link on your site worked. The basic gameplay has something to it (classic evasion is always fun) but could use some additional obstacles, or some layer on top. I like the sprites quite a bit though, give it a nice whimsical flavor.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

Download is super-slow for me, too. Took about 4 minutes. You can survive forever by just walking around the corners of the screen, giving the ninja a second or two to catch up before you keep going. No sound, no animations, only one level, and to be honest, I have no idea how this fits the theme...

LexGarza says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16am

There was not much to do in the game, I think at least adding more artwork and sounds would make it better.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Given that you can walk in a rectangle and not get stabbed if you're careful, this is more a test of patience than a game :P Also, there are no collisions with the edge of the screen, so you could theoretically hold any direction indefinitely and not lose

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:11am

i like the idea and its a cute game. it would be cool to have the ninja get quicker or maybe there are more ninjas

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]