December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Initiate's Spell

by Nut - Jam Entry

You are an initiate wizard, collecting tomes of arcane knowledge, but you only know how to cast one spell. Which spell is it? Your adventure will be different depending on which spell you know. (There are three possible spells)

---

This is my first Ludum Dare, and I had a lot of fun making this game! Puzzle Script is a great tool.

Before Ludum Dare, I was working on a patch that would allow Puzzle Script games to use music from Beep Box (another great tool!). I didn't get it working before the jam started, but I plan to finish it up and make a post-comp version of my game with the music I wrote integrated. Meanwhile, you can play with music by just clicking the music link above and letting Beep Box run in another tab while you play the game.

Hope you enjoy the game! Oh, and do take care when handling fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#228Fun(Jam)2.97
#240Theme(Jam)2.83
#248Innovation(Jam)2.90
#262Overall(Jam)3.11
#342Mood(Jam)2.70
#349Humor(Jam)2.05
#377Audio(Jam)2.42
#437Graphics(Jam)2.54

Comments

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:15am

Reasonably enjoyable, but I found the overly pixely aesthetic a little hard to interpret at times, and the game seemed to pretty arbitrarily jump between performing really fast and really slow. The sound also freaked out when I burned myself to death the one time.

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:33am

Nice music, nice graphics (mmm, chunky pixels), nice everything. I'm going to come back to this one and try to beat it, for after a fair bit of puzzling I am still a mere lowly apprentice!

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38am

Huh, that's weird. What do you mean when you say the sound freaked out? I can't reproduce it (although if you were playing the music, I've known Beep Box to occasionally flip out for a second or two, so maybe it was that?). Also, did the performance inconsistency happen just while playing as the fire wizard, or with everybody?

Thanks for the review!

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38am

Nice game, and awesome music too :P
I just managed to get one tome, it's really difficult to control the fire kkk

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:40am

Oops, I should address specific people with my comments. Previous one was to Seigeengine.

Thanks for your review as well, Berzee! Glad you enjoyed the game!

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41am

Chaoseiro: yeah, fire is probably the hardest. You need to get lucky to some extent to keep the fires from getting out of control. Try reloading the game to get one of the other spells! Thanks for reviewing!

GrinCreative says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50am

I liked it, unfortunately the art is too bad and I stuck with one (I don't know what is that) monster behind me. :(

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:02am

Thanks for the review, GrinCreative. I don't really understand what you mean that you are stuck with a monster behind you. Maybe a critter has blocked you into a narrow space? Press z to rewind moves if you need to.

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:16pm

AWESOME. I love the depth of the game, totally surprised me. Very well thought through. Also, sucks to get cornered by a sheep.

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Thanks Unept! Yeah, I'm starting to get annoyed by the critters too. I might move the snakes to a different layer in the post-comp version; not sure it makes sense to be able to walk over sheep the same way though.

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:24am

Hmm, I came back to try beating it with the water-related power. There must be something I'm misunderstanding with that one, because I'm not able to reach the nearest tome at all with that one (or are there different tomes available for different powers?).

Nut says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45am

Berzee: all the tomes are reachable with all the spells. The water power is hardest at the beginning. Maybe try exploring some other areas and come back for that first tome later.

Nut says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47am

Actually, the first tome is pretty hard with all the powers, now that I think about it. Maybe I should have placed them differently for a smoother learning curve.

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:38am

Love when playing fire, hehehe.. but I don't get it when use water spell?? when use to lake, the lake become soil and walk able but it happened only for one tile or I what I did wrong? :-? anyway nice game :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:39am

I don't know what is happening , some guys are talking about music but i don't hear anything but the sound effects o.0... the first time i played i couldn't do anything i could only move :(. After i hit restart i could burn stuff and could play. The game was fun , kind of hard tho :P and the art work i know was simple but the idea is there, very cool! but was kind of hard to intepret as Seigeengine said! Anyways great work and congrats on your first Ludum Dare! :D

Nut says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:49am

udinjelek: you have to put the water you're carrying down somewhere before you can pick up more : )

NiceAlexanderAS: The music thing is explained in the game description above. Do you know what color hat you had the first time? Each spell should have a brief visible effect even if you're not near an object it can interact with, so I'm not sure what went wrong for you.

Thanks for the reviews, both of you!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Awesome game! Really shows what you can do with PuzzleScript in the matter of little adventures. Incredible that you did this puzzle-world design in so little time, having to take care of at least 3 possible solutions for each of the 7 artifacts :o Plus, love the music! I stopped playing to have dinner and caught myself whistling the tune every once in a while. The music and the puzzle design build a really solid exploration mood, like you see in the first Zelda games. Grats!

travislucia says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:07am

Puzzle Script is something I have very much wanted to try and this is helping encourage me.

Nut says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:43am

Thanks so much for these reviews, Lipedal and travislucia! I'm really glad you enjoyed the game!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Nice graphics, I like the concept. Great work :)

Nut says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Thanks, archaeometrician!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:06pm

I had fire, that is one dangerous spell! Absoltely love the graphics though - I thought I was pushing things with 8x8 sprites in my game and you show how much life you can get out of 4x4 - outstanding! I was hoping for a bit more feeling of progress when I finally managed to burn that green dude out but he just disappeared. So then I tried to burn him to, hey ho ;) Thanks enjoyed this very much!

Nut says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:14pm

jimmypaulin: Green dude? I'm not sure what you're talking about. Glad you enjoyed the game though! Thanks for the review!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:21pm

visuals look fine, but it's sure hard to understand what the hell is going on and what I am supposed to do about it.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:21pm

That was one of the most fun games I've played this LD.

I finished it, and then I realised there were other ways to play.

Well done.

larb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I like the pixel graphics, but they are a bit too simple in some places. I didn't realize at first that there were boulders on the brown part that I could move. It just looks like impassable rocks.

Beside that, it's really fun. Good puzzles when you have the move spell. Great entry.

Nut says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Ooh lots of new reviews at once! Thanks everybody!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Heh, I meant the little character top right of ur main screen - obviously not a dude wearing minty green fireproof pants ;)

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:18am

@Nut
Yes, it happened while playing the fire wizard, but was going on from the very beginning, so in case you were thinking it might be related to me having set the world on fire. I was using the link to soundbox, but I don't know. It happened exactly when I burned myself to death.

Nut says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:09am

jimmypaulin: oh the tome? yeah you are just supposed to collect those (and not let them burn). I dunno why the little pedestals they sit on are bright green; I think I meant to change the color and forgot to get back to it.

Seigeengine: Hmm yeah maybe I should do some more testing with lots of fire and see if I can reproduce this.

euske says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:32am

It's a fun puzzle game, but what's the point of animals? They're nice decoration, but it's annoying when they blocked a narrow path.

Nut says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:51am

esuke: yeah, they're just decoration. One of the things I would change in retrospect (and I still plan to do a post-jam version! at...some point!) is to allow the player to walk over them, at least the snakes.

Nut says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:52am

Oops, pressed submit too soon. I also meant to say thank you euske for the review!

sekaru says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:59am

Lovely concept and surprisingly challenging. Although, like a few other people I really couldn't stand the graphics.

Nut says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:02am

Thanks for the review, sekaru!

Striwx says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:19pm

The rapid step-by-step movement and the big pixels give me some headaches. I'll try later.

Striwx says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:14pm

It reminds me some puzzle from the games of Michael Brough, very cool !

Nut says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Oh wow! I consider that a great compliment (I'm a big fan of Michael Brough's games); thanks Striwx!

olafsworld98 says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 2:02am

i dint get the point of it

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]