December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Perfect Match

by reecpj - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a match. You only get one short amount of time to burn everything. Your natural enemy is the water, and the boat that puts out fires. You like rough stone, because it feels warm.

This is my second gamejam, but first real one. I started making a fire simulation and added to it.
Can be played with 2 players, one on mouse and keyboard and the other with Xbox 360 gamepad.

Sorry about the movement physics! Also, hopefully the default Unity image effects/ water don't count as other people's work. I have included the whole Unity directory so you should be able to use it with Unity 4.3.1, or can just browse the cs files under assets if you want to look at code (which really isn't very impressive/ clean).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#202Innovation3.39
#366Graphics3.18
#508Humor2.22
#557Theme2.76
#802Audio1.20
#804Mood2.29
#825Overall2.58
#901Fun2.16

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

Besides Unity being Unity the game was great, Not sure if the menus is spose to stay there but it helped. Got stuck give it a wiggle and away you go again.

Chompson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20am

Awful control mechanics.

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:27am

Very clever idea, though difficult to control, and not sure what my direction was as the player. Nice graphics though.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55am

Good concept, think it would've been better with an AI boat though!

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Tried swiveling on the rock, but couldn't light the match :(

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Got stuck in the tree, but that wasn't so bad as the score kept going up. :D I like the take on theme, nice concept.

darkblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Kind of hard to understand how to move

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44pm

The controllers are a bit difficult to use but the idea is very nice. I like the graphics too.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Once I managed to get the match lit (which did take a while) the rest was easy, set fire to everything! A bit of a non-game, but I was very impressed with the graphics, it's a style you should definitely stick with.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Took me a while to figure out but I really like it. good concept

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Cool style, although the water doesn't seem to math the aesthetics. The gameplay is somewhat weird.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:19am

I had a lot of fun playing this game. Took me some time to find out how to light the match.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:51pm

This is a bizarre experience but I like it.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:05am

It's like a fire sim!
Like the concept a lot..

fun!

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:05am

I for one love the controls. The particle effects were great. However at times the matchstick did get stuck on the rock. But I still love the game. LOOT AND BURN! that's my motto.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Nice game, but I had problems with controls - getting a match lit up is tricky. But the very idea is brilliant - the first time I see a game where you play as a MATCH :)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:02pm

As others said, it's hard to light the match, and I was stuck behind the background tree. But everything was on fire !

The score didn't move at first, because I had the help screen not toggled off, I don't know if that impacted my score.

Didn't tried with the xbox360 controller.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]