December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ONE.Platformer

by Bogden - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Didn't get as far as I'd like, but for a first attempt at Ludum, I'm pretty happy! This runs best in Chrome. Tested in Chrome and IE11, but getting reports that Firefox may be buggy.

EDIT: I've shipped a fix for Firefox. Should be working now!
EDIT2: Added support for mobile devices! ...And fixed bugs. I'll be adding more levels but it'll be a separate page with the new version (different from the entry). Stay tuned!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#40Theme3.90
#72Innovation3.74
#386Humor2.50
#490Overall3.01
#498Fun2.86
#674Graphics2.58
#709Mood2.46
#787Audio1.30

Comments

bigdad1630 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:52am

Looks good man! Definitely not bad for first time! This was my first time aswell and I also did a Platformer.!

Calahagus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02am

Very fun, and deviously frustrating! You've got the mechanics down well, and that's what carries the care.

justin35f says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06am

Great use of theme.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

Nice work, Not a bad job.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

Cool idea for the mechanics. Slightly frustrating at times, but overall good job.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

GOTY

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Well done, great for a first timer (me too!). Works great in chrome. You should be proud of it!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

I think one of my earlier ideas was headed in this direction, but my brain was never able to put it together. Glad to see someone did though. Love the concept.

Vanish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Nailed the theme

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

Difficult, but great idea - fits well with the theme.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

Ahahaha!
I am confused as hell but I'm laughing like an idiot!

laaph says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38am

Incredibly difficult.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07am

Insanely hard!

Ludusamo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26am

This game is tough! But really fun. Great job on the theme!

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40am

Nice idea.

drentsoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40am

Hehehe nice

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Really interesting approach to a one button platformer. The controls are really tricky though.

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Bit frustrating getting a hold of the controls at first, but overall it's a very clever idea. Great work!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25pm

The controls are innovative but unfortunately frustrating. Neat idea but the execution could've been better.

JackBid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I nice idea and great use of theme, very good for a first attempt!

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Good job, very hard! I'll come back and play it later!:)

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Good game, but the controls are difficult.

Sytech says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Cool looking and fun little game!

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Hard to understand the controlling

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Wow, impressive amount of control for only using one key. Definitely one of the best usages of the theme that I've found so far. The puzzle difficulty is a bit rougher than I'd expected, but once I got the controls down it really worked well. I'd love to see more puzzles that require keeping momentum. I definitely hope you develop this game further.

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I like the idea, but i can't master the left and right jumping. Good work though!

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

enjoyable, wish there were more levels. controls are hard to learn but you get used to it after that

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Loved the implementation of the theme! Man that level where you had to jump side to side got me!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Fun. Unique idea.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Wow, really cool mechanics!! The last stage sent me to the second level. Isn't that considered a game-breaking bug? You can fix it ;D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18am

Really unique game, I have never seen one like it. I like the theme and the jumping.... well it confused me in the most fun way. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/EqAXn91dGLM

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:39am

Really unique controls. Fun but hard, great job.

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47am

Clever! Started to feel good once I got the hang of the various jumps (especially mastering the use of inertia).

I saw one bug where, on the walljump level, sometimes I would do the first left-jump onto the first left-wall platform, and it would launch me up through everything to the top of the level like a trampoline. But as that meant I got to skip all the difficult wall jumps, I did not mind overly much. :P

Bogden says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23am

Thanks Berzee. Looks like that's a bug in the physics engine I'm using. I edited the level to remove the wall, and (hopefully) the bug.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:12pm

I finished the level with the floating wooden platforms, and I was taken back to level 2... So I played through them again...

Great game all around, especially for a first go...

I agree that the reset button should have been Space, though...

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Really hard to control but the game was very fun.

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Pretty fun but the controls were pretty awful.

murilo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Crazy jumping mechanics! Pretty awesome for the theme! But I gave up on the third level. Congrats man!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Great for your first entry. Cool mechanics, couldn't quite get the one that required momentum though :(

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Error in Firefox on Linux 64-bit:

Error in parsing value for 'image-rendering'. Declaration dropped. style.css:4
Error in parsing value for 'image-rendering'. Declaration dropped. style.css:5
Error in parsing value for 'image-rendering'. Declaration dropped. style.css:6
SyntaxError: Using //@ to indicate source map URL pragmas is deprecated. Use //# instead jquery-1.10.2.min.js:1
Unknown property 'box-sizing'. Declaration dropped. bogden.brace.io
"Phaser v1.1.3 - Renderer: Canvas - Audio: WebAudio"

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Great idea and a lot of fun (and really frustrating!). It would have been nice to see an ending screen, it just looped round to the second level for me.

omaha says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:34am

The mechanics are lovely. It's begging for a soundtrack of some kind.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:18am

congrats on this being your first LD entry, really clever mechanic and interpretation of the theme!

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Well done, interesting mechanics.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Really cool interpretation of the theme. I had lots of fun playing, but the difficulty curve felt a bit too steep. Nice job.

ehtd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Quite innovative controls

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Great concept. But it did prove too hard for me. Maybe though in some levels after having introduced all movements that don't require too much perfection of the controls from the user? I think the game is a bit too unforgiving as it is right now.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]