December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

There's only one Earth

by TheStolenBattenberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note 1:
You're gonna need to know English.

------------
Description:

I took the concept in what I consider an interesting route,
Choice.

In this post apocalyptic choice based game, you're only allowed one choice per day, and only one choice is the correct one... Can you survive, will you survive?

Will you decide to end it all, with the silhouette of a bullet and gun, projected onto your wall by the light of a sun.

There's no OS/X, or Linux build because I don't have a way to build for the system. I'm sorry, because this is a rather large flaw...

-------------------------
Recommended System Specs:

DirectX - 9.0
GFX RAM - 32MB or greater
CPU GHz - 1.3GHz or greater
RAM - 512 or more
OS: Windows XP or greater.

-------
Note 2:
There was originally gonna be language translations, since this game uses a lot of text -- but due to the 'no team' rule, and me wanting to do it alone anyway, I didn't include this.

The parts required FOR a translation however, are included. After the competition, I'm quiet happy to re-release with translations.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Mood3.17
#431Theme3.00
#505Audio2.50
#717Innovation2.56
#851Overall2.53
#892Graphics2.07
#898Fun2.17
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Starts of nice, I like the dark setting. First time I left the game by pressing Q when I was searching how to proceed after the bomb had hit. Second time I waited long enough to realize that it will continue after a certain amount of time(?) and realized after my first wrong decision that in order to play again, I have to start the whole process over again? With non skippable intros?
I understand that that could also be a way to give weight to your decisions and the resulting death, but as there is no skill but only luck involved I don't feel like waiting a minute to finally give it a new try. Too bad, because I did like the premise.

Lockyy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Inability to restart without sitting through the entire intro sequence really prevented me from exploring the game more than 2 or 3 times.
Otherwise nice and interesting. There aren't enough text adventures being made anymore.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25am

Oh no, the worst has happend then -- I uploaded the wrong bloody build... There was supposed to BE a skip feature, but I compiled a build for a friend to 'preview' and tell me what he thought, which didn't have it... Due to the lack of sleep I probably uploaded the wrong build.. To late now, oh well...

It's actually not just luck, luck would imply that the thing that happens is random chanec, which it isn't.

P.S - Sorry there's no skip button, I do agree it's a real downside.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:34pm

As said before. Intro was long and unskippable. It is luck because to us, it might as well be random.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Fair enough, I put it down to just use your mind and think of the most logical choice. I think I'll probably enter the next Ludum Dare, if I do an intro I'll remember to upload the build with a skip button.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:57pm

It is an interesting game but restarting is way to slow. I would like to experience all the endings but it would require spending to much tme waiting on the intro over and over.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:05am

What the fuck? How does this fit the theme? Just because the name has one in it doesn't mean it fits the fucking theme.

pele says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:35am

I like text-based games and I feel a particularly attracted to the post-apocalyptic subgenre. The game is short but makes you wanna try it again just to see all possible endings. I just wish there was way to skip the introduction. I got annoying watching it over and over again everytime I died...

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:00am

Crockid5, did you actually read the introduction? It fits the theme fine, in my opinion.

Ace says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:23am

Well, the unskippable intro didn't really improve the game. Though it's nice to see a text adventure like this under ludum dare.
This might almost fit the theme a bit too well, what with closing as soon as you die so you have to restart the entire game from the beginning

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:34am

My first try I died scavenging for food on the second option.

Second time I managed to win the game, woop. I have survived "for now" and got the final good ending :P .

Good going man. Yeah, you needed a skip, but I get that that was an accident.

You should try making a full text based adventure where you can type commands in. It's a really rewarding process.

Hope you join in again next time!

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:00am

It's a shame that the intro's not skippable. Nice game overall.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:53pm

The intro indeed is an unfortunate accident but I liked the game nevertheless. Apparently I'd do well in a post-apocalytic world as I got it right on the second try.
Too bad life only happens once though... :)

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Too long unskippable intro. Good text advcenture however.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]