December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Chance to Kill Souperman

by zeal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A - Left
D - Right
SPACE - Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#254Theme3.32
#642Audio2.16
#750Graphics2.42
#989Innovation1.71
#1001Fun1.53
#1003Overall1.89
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Web link takes me to a Dropbox directory instead of the index.html

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I can't access the index for the game.

zeal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I'm truly sorry, guys. This is my first Ludum Dare game entry and I cannot work it out so the dropbox would play it right in the browser. Adding dl.dropboxusercontent.com instead of dropbox.com doesn't work for some reason. I'm thankful for your interest in my game entry and hopefully you're not angry at me that the link doesn't work. I'm doing my best to get it to work right now.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Good fun, well done :)

smash ball says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

The game idea was good, but it was boring. There simply wasn't much to do.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09pm

This is probably the shortest game I've ever played :) Liked the arts.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Poor Superman.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19am

Really annoying having to refresh the page in order to try a second time.

zeal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:00am

Thanks, guys for your comments.

ratboy2713: Hence the game's title is Only One Chance! But seriously, a restart button didn't make it into the game because it was already too late to implement it. Now it's restarting like five to ten seconds after you fire from the cannon and don't hit him.

smash ball: I planned a lot of features but as this was my first Ludum Dare in my life I highly underestimated the utilization of time. I may make a deluxe version later on with more features and a restart button. It also lacks some animation where Souperman flies to the screen after you miss the target and then he states that it's a bad idea to try to shoot at him.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Too bad you've not implemented a "try again button". We have to wait and it breaks dynamics.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Take that, Souperman ! Nice game idea.

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:45am

The idea was certainly fun, the game needs a 'try again' tho!

larb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:47am

Funny idea. Souperman, are you ok...? Nice work for a first entry.

leuhfahn says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:01pm

good idea! You pushed the concept end!

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Haha, that's funny.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:24pm

intresting, but there isnt much play in it. music and the intro screen is nice though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]