December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Onions Only Chance

by joserodolfofreitas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about an onion who doesn't want to get eaten by Mad Blue, the protagonist's only chance is to fall and hope he's going to fly.

My Idea was to create one super fly/jump, and the game is build around that only moment where the onion gets to fly and reach a safe point, far from Mad Blue's teeth. I implemented the core mechanic based on a Quick Time Event idea, a la God of War.

The game is very hard, so read this carefully and also take some seconds to see the the tutorial screen inside the game. The same screen is also as an screenshot on this page (last screenshot).

TUTORIAL:
1) Move the player with left and right arrow key, I suggest using right arrow as soon as you see MadBlue ;)

2) On the quick time event, press the respectively arrow key at the moment the circle close/touches the button icon, when the button can be pressed, it will become white, watch it carefully.


Please, leave your feedback about your experience, and perhaps your best score.

thank you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#215Humor3.03
#475Innovation2.95
#486Audio2.55
#523Mood2.71
#656Theme2.59
#709Graphics2.51
#711Fun2.54
#754Overall2.69

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43am

At first I didn't know what I was doing but then once I realised what I'm spose to be doing it became a world of endless fun.

quill18 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29pm

I'm terrible at rhythm games, so I found this to be rather unforgiving to play. The concept is cool though, and I like your art/sound design!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43pm

This game isn't lenient at all. This fact + yours highscore to beat kept me hitting "retry" many times. I wish there was some kind of beeing able to miss sometimes and keep going but on the other hand... this would ruin the whole, funny and a bit abstract concept :)
I appreciate the way you implement hit-circles, it turned out as good feedback for rhytm-based game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08pm

A very interesting game, both being quite fun with some humour feelings with the Mad Blue but also adding the rythm game to it. Thanks for making the game and trying to play mine (even if you had a bug I don't understand) wish you good luck!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17pm

You are right @Tonasz, it should be more lenient to allow every user to reach a minimum acceptable score.
Btw, how many hits did you get?

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Maybe I'm stupid, but I do not know how to run the game on Linux... There is no executable or shell script or anything... I would like to check it out, though...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24pm

@rnlf and others linux users, would you mind trying the web version in case the linux build is not working? I don't have a linux machine to test the build.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Yo, I read your message on my project page. I'm sorry, I can't start it, as there is no executable file whatsoever. Web Player doesn't work under Linux. I will try it next time I boot Windows, you should consider finding out how to start in on Linux though, I guess I'm not the only Linux user with this problem. Especially because I have seen other Unity projects that had an executable included.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Yeah, I'll try to find out how to run the linux build. Thanks rnlf!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

I thought the concept of this game was good. I was pretty bad at the rythym part but I can see how it could be fun.

Good concept and use of the theme.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Surprisingly addictive for such a simple mechanic.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11pm

The first controls are clunky and But I liked the difficulty!

Kvisle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I have a big problem mastering the game mechanic. I've gotten a maximum of one hit, before I do something wrong on the next one and die. I'm not sure if I'm supposed to click exactly when the ring comes in, slightly before, slightly after -- but I do know my fail rate is high - very high.

Fun esthetics, and I love the sound of the enemy.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nice monster and intro story :D Fun to play, but I really suck at it (3 hits highscore :D)

dqmhose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:32am

I liked it but it took me a while to get it right. Still way too hard for me, I'm just not good at this kind of game :D

xrm0 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:38am

Couldn't understand how to play it

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Good game!! More levels are welcomes! The concept is interesting!!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I keep pressing the arrow keys on the quick time event but don't know what's supposed to happen.

Masadow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Ok, so this game is really good ! But there some few points I don't understand. The first part, is it really useful to land on the right or left ? It was quite long when you retried. (I played a lot of rounds because this is an addictive game :D)

When you land too much on the left, you will be stucked under the start platform.

You are not really rewarded by the maximum not you will get. I had 45 hits and had only 280 coins because I had to much speed so I didn't collect them. However, If I have 25 hits, 24 seems the best but I did not manage to get that amount exactly. I had 480 coins. I think your collision is a bit buggy. Plus you don't any coins above a certain height. That's why having a lot of speed is not rewarding.

However, as I said, this game is great, I really love the mixin genre and it had a great esthetic !

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Nice execution, i like the circles closing in, and the gfx style in general..

Masadow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I'm just passing back to tell you that your game is very cool, and I really would like to see perfect version on Kongregate or whatever :)

Masadow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:25pm

https://github.com/masadow You will eventually find my mail address ;) I don't use twitter

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Finally found time to get Windows up and running to test this one out. I really like the way you "synthesized" the sound effects :D I definitely had fun playing it!

SimianLogic says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:49am

Really had no idea what was going on at first... chased by a thing and then a rhythm game and then a jumpy thing and death on spikes. Very strange overall, though I finally did "beat" it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]