Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Park King

by Chris Mondok - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Source can be found at https://github.com/ChrisMondok/Park-King

It's a puzzle game, where you carefully re-arrange cars in a parking lot.

The first level is the tutorial, it tells you how to play.
You're going to want a mouse.

======
= Note =
======
The white car is your car. When it appears at the bottom, drag it to the top. When it appears at the top, drag it to the bottom.

Tested in Opera, Chrome, Firefox, and the webOS 3 browser.

There are some weird graphical quirks in Firefox, but the game works fine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#317Innovation3.17
#767Humor1.50
#802Overall2.62
#841Fun2.33
#889Mood2.05
#928Graphics1.93
#981Theme1.74

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26am

Wasn't sure what to do with the dragging thing.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:05pm

This is an amazing game! After rushing the tutorial I had to come back to read more carefully - worth it! It's really addictive and has nice uncomplicated layers of planning. The 1 hour launch is a great idea - as the overall concept is. I could imagine this to be a great touchscreen game :) Well done!

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Thanks. It works on a touch screen, but it's much more difficult to avoid car collisions. With some tweaks, it might be good on a tablet, though.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Um.. I can't get past the tutorial. I am not quite sure when you want me to have cars parked and when you want them to leave. This is in part due to not being used to AM/PM and clockfaces to tell time (24 hour clocks here)
But also because I can't quite understand game mechanically how to make it "Parked" and whether there is any penalty from just keeping it on the "leaving" part.
Even when it was on the "Leaving" part of the map though it still said "Car left in lot" and just stopped.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Sorry about the PM bit, the theme is lost when your break is at 13:00 and not 1:00 PM. Parked doesn't mean anything. You could go ahead and leave all of your cars in the top row, but then it would fill up and you'd lose. When your car (white) comes back from lunch / the start of the day, you need to bring it to the bottom zone.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

That's the one thing that confused me most - the white car is not a regular car to be parked, it's my car.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

24 hour clock would have been better. Good game though. don't understand how it ties into the theme very well.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Tutorial was blank? I found this very difficult to understand!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Shame on you for making such AWESOME (while beeing also very simple) idea so confusing! Long waiting at the beggining, help scrolling on the bottom and not clear at all "Car left in lot" msg made me feel lost. 24 hours for me, guy from Poland, would be better but I got the matter of "one" theme. You could also add numeric clock above - it's much clearer for me. Anyway - congratulation :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Took me some time to understand what you're trying to do in the game. But once I figured it out, it was fun juggling these cars and trying to park them most efficiently. Nice game :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Neat idea, didn't not really get it though..
But simple and good graphics.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:10am

Had no idea what I was doing at first, the tutorial should really highlight areas and point to things instead of just using text, or at the very least show the playe what they're supposed to do. When I started understanding the mechanics then it got really fun! You need to find a better way to explain it and you'll be golden :)

turnA says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:13am

The tutorial level should have more instruction in-game. I don't understand a bit about what to do before I read this page again. The theme implementation is unique though :)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Like a 15 puzzle ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/15_puzzle ) but you are the one who arrange the blocks first !

Weirdly, you go back gome before all the car get out for the day. It's a good concept, and the lunch event is a great idea.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:00pm

BTW, it could be used as a way to recall how to read time with mechanical !

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:14am

Very interesting idea. Took me a while to figure it out. Would be nice if top and bottom areas had different colors or symbols. Some audio would be nice to.

All in all I liked the game, but got too frustrated to keep playing :P

SimianLogic says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:11am

really don't understand what's going on. i think when the menu pops out it's game over? or else i'm randomly popping out the menu... needs clearer instructions.

maybe i suck at telling time (maybe have the cars have a non-digital clock face to make it easier to match them?). i didn't really understand the red flashing, though i did manage to clear a few cars

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]