December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

MonoRoll

by SoumyaXeored - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi! This is my first interaction with Ludum Dare. I hope MonoRoll will please you. Here, a ball rolls down a slope and there are obstacles in the way. You have only 1 Life, if you stop, the game will start over :)
The obstacles are procedurally generated, so the obstacles are different everytime you play it.
Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#491Fun2.87
#571Innovation2.80
#604Theme2.67
#662Graphics2.60
#710Overall2.75
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

Good 3d puzzle game. I enjoyed the rolling mechanic and the help text as part of the game is a nice idea. The lower walls looked a bit too much like high walls and maybe we should be able to roll along walls for a while instead of dying. Well done! (My game also uses procedural generation)

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17am

neat little game. Very difficult though! I wish I had a score

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:26am

Very cool concept, I just wish there was some kind of score at the end to tell me how far I got. I finally got the hang of it and was going along very smoothly then I got hit with the ultimate combination: a wall with a hole on the far right then a wall with a hole on the far left. That combo sent me into a right/left/right tailspin that I never recovered from.

SoumyaXeored says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38am

Thanks for your suggestions! Yea unfortunately I forgot to make a score system :(
(Pro tip : the more you move the faster you go) :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00am

Do you have a web version?

SoumyaXeored says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

No Sorry

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:01am

It was pretty fun once I figure out how to play. I honestly didn't even notice there was a ball I was controlling until about 5 deaths because the color of the ball was so similar to the background. I think it would help a lot if the ball stood out more. Once you make one mistake its pretty dang hard to recover. Its pretty unforgiving. I also wish I could see a little bit more of what was coming up so that I could avoid overcompensating the next obstacle and then not be able to recover for the one coming up after. Pretty fun overall though.

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:27am

Pretty difficult, momentum of ball is big, so it's have to be very careful with movings. Anyway it was to fun play this game.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:51am

Death is too quick once you hit a wall. Graphics are certainly alright.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

Welcome to Ludum Dare! I always like this kind of game and you definitely added some challenge to the usual formula. I wish the ball was easier to see (it took several times before I even knew there was a ball). Keep it up, I'm looking forward to seeing more games from you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]