December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

St. George's Day

by TinyMoonStudios - Jam Entry

St. George's Day is a side-scrolling Shmup game with a fairly British twang to it's name. Enjoy bursting down enemies with a variety of weapons as you fight to reach and then bomb the alien's mothership in order to save the planet. But be careful as YOU ONLY HAVE ONE BOMB so don't waste it!

---------------------

'We will not go quietly into the night! We're going to live on! We're going to survive! Today we celebrate St. George's Day!' - General Winchester

It is a commonly known fact that most media on Earth is broadcast through radio waves, and those waves are, as we speak, flying off into space, where they will no doubt confuse an alien one day. Of course, what if that alien wasn't confused? What if he just shared the view of a lot of people on this planet that a lot of modern media kind of sucks? What if they decided to kill us all in a massive, massive overreaction?
We don't know either, but it probably wouldn't look ANYTHING like this.

---------------------

Note: If you press 'Try Again' after dying you won't have to go through the dialogue again before restarting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#294Graphics(Jam)3.13
#306Humor(Jam)2.21
#329Fun(Jam)2.70
#370Audio(Jam)2.46
#400Overall(Jam)2.77
#415Mood(Jam)2.46
#487Theme(Jam)2.07
#531Innovation(Jam)1.90

Comments

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:45am

Interesting. I like the feel of the game. Its a little tough to dodge enemy bullets.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03am

haha, is that general winchester? Not a photoshop of your granny?
It played pretty smooth
It wasn't easy, but there's nothing wrong with that.

On my wishlist would be: (pew pew) sounds, so you get a audible feedback from what's happening (getting hit, shooting, destroying). And a skippablre intro after the first go.

I like that you took the effort of having random loading hints.

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05am

Not an original game whatsoever, but besides that it's fun, has good graphics, and has nice music. Well done!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26am

Nice shump. The graphics and music are very good, but I missed some sound fx. For the next time, if you're lacking them, try using http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html
I used it for some of mine sounds.

chicknstu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Although it's not very original, there's a lot in this and it's very well executed.

Hard though!

Nice work :)

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Is there a reason why it takes me through the dialogue every time I restart?

Anyway it's polished, but it was also very unclear to me that I could use SHIFT without reading the controls. (You can blame me, but nobody will as well, and the introduction text was too long imho :P)

Apart from these issues, it's quite polished and it manages to be fun.

Good job!

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:14pm

It is interesting, I like the way the game looks but I fail to see the theme.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Wow, didn't expect such nice graphics especially the cityscape. Great gameplay, well done :)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I like the graphics and the witty comments :D

Several says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I'm surprised by how much I missed sound effects here. I think even just sfxr-style 'bup' and 'gworbl' sounds for firing & exploding (respectively) would make the death-dealing so much more rewarding.

Controls feel a little stiff, and it's kinda hard to get used to having only one axis of control.

But that's a lovely death-screen. And some dandy hints there. I'd like even more of that throughout. (Perhaps a rendition of 'God Save the Queen' playing in the background? With the occasional patriotic cheer or stereotypical phrase ('for king and country!' 'stiff upper lip!') when picking up power ups or downing a larger enemy?)

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:17am

Really difficult, but pretty entertaining and funny.

digihacker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice effect you did there ! Forward control will be appreciated xD

veiadoida says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:52am

i wasn't too good, but i usually suck at this kind of game. however, it's super fun and a really nice game to watch time goes by. i liked the reference too. great job.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Damn that was hard! Maybe slow down enemy shots a bit? It's very hard to dodge them. But nice visuals! Was missing a bit of pew pew BOOM sound effects :). Check out http://www.bfxr.net/ , very easy to make sound effects that would fit your game perfectly!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]