December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Buy the World

by Ymir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game objective:

Buy the world.
You start with one (1) dollar. Go buy some ballpoint pens.
You lose if there are no items you can buy or sell.

How to play:

Click anywhere to begin the game.
In the left box are the items you can buy. The right box is your inventory. Click on any of the items to select them.

Clicking the button on the middle buys all of the selected items from the left box and sells all of the items on the right one.

Tip: selling everything immediately isn't always the best option.
Tip 2: not all items are equally profitable.


>>>Note: You should be happy if you managed to buy a car or a cow or something. You started with one dollar, after all!<<<

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#112Innovation3.60
#222Overall3.37
#248Theme3.33
#265Fun3.23
#266Graphics3.40
#312Humor2.72
#568Audio2.37
#573Mood2.65

Comments

pet_snake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15am

Pretty fun over all. I played this several times over. It always gets a little tricky once turn 50 hits, but its all random so it just varies the items you're dealt.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Interesting/weird/funny concept. It was fun at the start but got a bit repetitive. :)

acronaut says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice twist for a puzzle.. Pretty random the items for trade.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Don't buy the paper clips! They are almost never worth it! Excellent game idea though, loved playing it!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Funny game. Not super engaging but its an interesting concept. Love the visuals too.

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I like this, would be nice if there where some indicators about the price development.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Very addicting game! I should have used this style for the trading in my game. I don't have any idea what you could have done better.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I liked the variety of different things to buy. Why are the prices so expensive? Has the economy gone mad?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

What I learnt from this: I should get into the ballpoint pen industry xD, they always make their money back for some reason. Brilliant game, very addictive. Spent a good half an hour playing it but could never get past buying a cow before I lose all my money.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13pm

took me about 10 tries and 1 hour to reach turn 200+, game became impossible. I wonder how you can buy earth when the number of digits gets out of the window.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Interesting game, had a hard time getting into the really profitable items but I enjoyed this game. Good concept/theme also!

miwuc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Cute game. I expected it to be a simple cookie-clicker like, but it's actually a lot more challenging. Although maybe a bit too much? I gave up after about 5 tries.
Great graphics!

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Really cool take on the theme, I was like the global Pen Magnate for a second, and then I lost EVERYTHING.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47pm

This game is actually really addicting. I got to *ahem* turn 1500+ and gave up. I managed to get 50% of the money to buy Earth, but the strategy required to buy it was too ridiculous. Basically I ended up at the stage where the best thing I could buy was Tundra, but that was always around 1% the value of Earth, so to win I had to buy at least 100 of them, but doing that is difficult because they only come up 15% or so of the time, so I had to shuffle the shop hundreds of times, and make sure my inventory didn't get filled up with too much crap (else the price of Earth might go up more than the amount you sold the other Tundras for). I gave up shortly after realizing this.

Ymir says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:42am

@Darkcoder
It shouldn't be like that. Either you had really bad luck or I have mistyped some zeros in the prices. Either way, thanks for the feedback, I'll fix it after the compo.

larb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:32am

I had a similar idea, but this game is waaay better. Nice work.

TeamRoboto says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

What a gamble :p It's rewarding when I get an item that's worth more than what I bought it for :) but it's a bit too much of a guess... Some explanation as to why it migth be worth more or less would be nice. Also, why does the value rise by holding on to the item?
Still very fun and innovative, and it has a excellent goal for a game! :p

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Show the potential to become a Cookie Clicker, but it's in a very raw stade. F**k the paperclips...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]