About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 15 hours, 51 minutes, 0 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 16 hours, 3 minutes, 0 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 16 hours, 51 minutes, 0 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    BL1ND - Shaun LeBron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You only get one DIMENSION.

    You play as Lori, a blind girl who has been given a gift to see the world again, but only in 1 Dimension.

    B L 1 N D

    View Shaun LeBron's journal. | View all entries by Shaun LeBron

    Ratings

    Innovation4.68
    Coolness71%
    #37Overall3.88
    #40Theme3.90
    #79Mood3.63
    #198Graphics3.60
    #297Fun3.18
    #629Humor1.95

    Comments

    ittlebit says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24am

    This was pretty interesting. Never really seen a mechanic like this before. I have yet to actually win at hide and seek. I'm sure I'll be back to try again!

    ghosrath says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:55pm

    Loving it, this is what makes LD cool! Your game has a completely new mechanic, with a really good and original implementation of the theme. 5 start Innovation from me!

    Jakub Koziol says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17pm

    Wow! So simple and so innovative at the same time. Good job!

    feizenbara says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21pm

    Really interesting proposal. It lacks content, but I think it could very well fit with a stealth game (yeah, a blind guy stealth game :-) ).

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19pm

    Very interesting mechanic nicely presented but could use some precise instructions.

    drkrunk says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:20pm

    This was really interesting and very unique. Great job, I really had fun with this!

    occash says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48pm

    Nice and very kind game!

    Shaun Lebron says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39pm

    Thanks guys. And sorry, I ran out of time before I could add more content. Wish I could add more levels after the deadline.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

    Wow! Extremely innovative! I've never seen anything quite like it. Great work!

    darkblue says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:44pm

    Quite fun, that is a nice SLAM problem to solve.

    khahem says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29pm

    I really like the idea and the execution, very original take on the 1D.

    It's nice to see that the code really computes and projects boxes from a 2D world.

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57pm

    Great idea!
    I got the idea of only having 1 dimension too, but I had no idea how that could be done in practice. This is excellent.

    On the downside, it's extremely light on content, and a game like this *definitely* lacks immersion when there's no sound (footsteps, maybe bumping into things, maybe different ground surfaces).
    If you don't make a version of this with sound, some's gonna have to.. *ahem

    The graphical style is quite nice too, strong and simple.

    Overall, I'd say 4/5 due to lack of sound, but full score for innovation and theme!

    Shaun Lebron says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:53pm

    This was my first jam, so I spent too much time on computing the projection and designing the visuals to hint things like rotational/linear acceleration and the wall-bumping flash. I do plan on going further with the idea next year.

    Zephyr Raine says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:24pm

    Oh, got mindblowed by the mechanic. Really interesting !
    I would have a bit more contents, but really fascinating game.

    hirsch says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    This is a really interesting way to show the environment, even if its a bit confusing though :D
    But who never wanted to "see" 360°
    Really nice game :)

    mutilator says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:54pm

    Very original idea, not sure how much the concept could be expanded but it would be cool to see.

    rxi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:44pm

    Wow. This concept was really incredible, really unlike anything I've seen before. The minimalistic graphics were just wonderful, the dialogue really helped to make the whole thing feel more human, and the gameplay itself was really interesting.

    It seems as if you should expand on this idea further in a post-compo version. I'd really like to see what you come up with if you do.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45pm

    Oh, ain't this a clever proof-of-concept. Glad you already have plans for a post-LD version because this idea deserves to be taken further.

    madmaw says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:49am

    I feel like there is the seed of something really clever here (possibly a good mechanic to deliver a really emotional experience too)

    Cory Martin says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:08am

    Very interesting. This is a unique way to approach the perception of light, something I've never thought much about before. It makes me very thankful I have 2D binocular vision.

    iambored2006 says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:50pm

    Tried it and loved it! Of course, this is way better than what I made (no innovation there). Looking forward to a post-compo version!

    Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:51pm

    A crazy game! Great concept! I also tried to think how to get a "you only get one... dimension" concept done, but you really made a great job!

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:49pm

    Okay, played this twice, first time I may have skipped the dialog a bit and didn't understand a thing, second time was a big eureka moment though, daaamn that's cool! How the hell did you do this? :o

    Maple says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:25pm

    This is quite an interesting way to present a 3D place. It makes me wonder (due to this only representing stuff on the horizon) how things would be presented if it showed everything in a person's vision from top to bottom as well. I guess the representation, instead of being a ring would be a circle, where the centre of the circle is forward (instead of your current forward which is at the top of the ring). Hmm, interesting stuff. I've wondered how I'd go about making a blind game before... Well done!

    GarethIW says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:31pm

    This was a really interesting idea. Would play more!

    Managore says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

    This is a brilliant take on the theme and an even better execution! Beautiful.

    spx says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 1:14am

    The idea and implementation is really impressive. Great work!

    Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:34am

    Really cool concept, great job! I included this in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 28 Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/EG4kRkM_i_s

    BradleySmith says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:06pm

    Rated highly for innovation, really interesting gameplay mechanics. Shame there's no sound.

    loxo says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:54pm

    Interesting game concept. I like the idea, but it's very hard to image the objects in your head. The free run mode was very helpful to understand how things work. So it was no problem to win the hide & seek level. Would be interesting to have more levels, to see how hard the game can get.

    vapgames says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:22am

    Really innovative and neat looking!

    LTPATS says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:46am

    Wow this is awesome, first time I've seen 1D depicted in any way in a game! There's definitely a lot of potential here. The game's short, but it does a great job at introducing the mechanic.

    Like others have said, sound would be nice, but honestly I didn't feel like too much was missing without it (it held up well on its own).

    Would love to see more! Very innovative!

    Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:24am

    Great Job! I'm glad I got to see this before the end of voting.

    FrederickK says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:48am

    Genius!
    Totally missed this!
    Hope voting still works!
    Good job!

    Sestren says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 2:14am

    I definitely want to see what you do with the post-compo version of this. I love the concept.

    TijmenTio says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 10:35am

    sweet

    Sheepolution says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:57pm

    You totally deserve that first place for innovation! Brilliant!

    01101101 says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 7:10pm

    Congrats! Really good concept and nice art style for it! I hope you continue working on it :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]