December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1 Day, 1K

by Tridecimal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You start off with one day (it shows as 24 hours in the game) and $1000 and you have to dig as far into the ground as possible while collecting minerals to get more money, for extra hours or faster speed, and dodging moles that want to kill you for being on their turf.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#320Fun3.14
#429Overall3.09
#474Humor2.29
#538Innovation2.85
#656Theme2.59
#689Mood2.48
#705Audio1.88
#750Graphics2.42
#1678Coolness14%

Comments

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:44am

Simple yet good. I love it. Only thing, that you mine with double speed when going diagonal as you get the same Y and X speed. Suits theme well.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:12am

Great game! I love the particle effects. Nice work.

Skyrossm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21am

Fun to play, but it was quite hard to keep up with buying upgrades while trying to mine down.

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:37am

Fun, but upgrading was strange

midgety says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49am

Fun game, I like the idea

triforcespark says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:57am

Some things I've noticed:
1.)The moles are annoying at deeper levels.
2.)I don't quite get where the theme "you only get one" is. (I assume "you only get one day")
Other than that, quite an addictive game.

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04am

Screenshots look good. Wasn't able to load it on a macbook air, latest safari, firefox or chrome.

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

Fun game! Would be nice if there where keyboard shortcuts for upgrading.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10am

Not bad, my mouse was a bit wonky with the game sometimes though... Not sure if that is on my end.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14am

Fun game, like it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

Its nice being able to choose your own pace of the game. Those moles are vicious.

insane66 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

Interesting concept. I was so focused on playing I didn't realize you could buy upgrades for the first couple rounds. Overall fun to play.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

Couldn't stop playing this, It's simple and effective had lots of fun playing.

voidqk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

very nice -- very simple... I died the first time, until I realized buying a speed boost is required to outrun the moles. fun to play, not complex, but doesn't try to be... nice little arcade game.

please rate mine if you have the time.

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15am

Not bad, moles seem way too fast lol

cBit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

It's a good concept with a good implementation. The upgrades remind me of those "get as far as you can" games where you can buy upgrades to make the thing go further, except they aren't persistent. I like the simple music, but an ambient track would make it better. I liked it!

Brunodev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

I like it!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Love the purchasing speed and time risk/reward mechanic.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

Nice idea. I'm always a fan of games where you can chip away at pixels :)

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12am

Liked it overall. The moles get the speed upgrade too?

ekun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38am

Simple but satisfying to play. Good stuff.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18am

Really nice take on a "sidescroller" - not my piece of cake, but enjoyed it :)

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07am

Cool game. Took me a while to figure out that I had to click upgrades. Overall I enjoyed it.

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

This is really fun!
I didn't realise you could upgrade until someone mentioned in the comments.

Kabraxis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59am

Yay, truly addicting! :)

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

good game!

dbyrge says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Surprisingly addicting!

JackBid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I really enjoyed the theme/concept behind this, was great fun. Good job!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Good idea, but the graphics made it weird. Me likes.

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18pm

web resolution was wrong for me. After downloading, fun game, and love the graphics.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32pm

It was cool, but I don't see where the theme really fits in. Good job though!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Fun game.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Good idea! Well done!

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Fun game. It would have been nice if there was something different to look at other than dirt, minerals, and moles.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Surprisingly fun for such a simple game, well done.

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

The moles seemed like they moved faster if I switched from moving diagonally to just horizontal to try and dodge them ,which is backwards I think, since they should be quicker if I am moving towards them. It was challenging to make it far. It was enjoyable enough to play many rounds trying to best my records!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I personally didn't enjoy it, but congrats on finishing LD. This game is more about "digging" than "you only get one".

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Cannot play on Ubuntu 12.04, ClassNotFoundException, com/tridecimal/onlyone/Applet.class, Using JRE version 1.7.0_45-b18, 64bit

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Really simple but fun game, very addicting after a while. I enjoyed it and included it in my Ludum Dare 28 video compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/sSLhI-W0qCg

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

Simple game but very good. Enjoyed playing it.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Good game! Some decision you gotta make during the game between hours or speed haha! I didn't realize how to upgrade at first.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Great Job. I am a sucker for mining games.

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:33am

Would have been great with some background music but was still a very fun game regardless. I managed to get a high score of 9015 before I quit playing. Very addicting game. ^_^

ervivek431 says ...
Mar 20, 2018 @ 2:57pm

<a href="http://recommendationletter.co/">recommendation letter for graduate school</a>
<a href="http://getformtemplates.com/">Free Printable Recommendation Letter Templates</a>
<a href="http://3dsemulator.info/">citra 3ds emulator free download</a>
<a href="http://best3dprinterspro.com/">budget 3d printer</a>
<a href="http://notepadplusplus.net/">notepad++ online free</a>
<a href="http://chinaposttracking.info/">hong kong post tracking</a>
<a href="http://july2018calendar.info/">July 2018 Printable Calendar</a>
<a href="http://june2018calendar.info/">June 2018 Printable Calendar </a>
<a href="http://september2018calendar.info/">September 2018 Printable Calendar </a>
<a href="http://uscustomerservicenumber.com/">Optimum Customer Support Number</a>
<a href="http://germanflag.info/">Black Red Yellow Flag</a>
<a href="http://december2018calendar.info/">December 2018 Blank Calendar </a>

ervivek431 says ...
Mar 20, 2018 @ 2:57pm

http://3dsemulator.info/
http://best3dprinterspro.com/
http://december2018calendar.info/
http://notepadplusplus.net/
http://chinaposttracking.info/
http://getformtemplates.com/
http://july2018calendar.info/
http://june2018calendar.info/
http://september2018calendar.info/
http://uscustomerservicenumber.com/
http://germanflag.info/
http://recommendationletter.co/

ervivek431 says ...
Mar 20, 2018 @ 2:58pm

[url=http://recommendationletter.co/]recommendation letter[/url][url=http://getformtemplates.com/]Wedding Invitations Templates[/url][url=http://3dsemulator.info/]3ds emulator download[/url][url=http://best3dprinterspro.com/]cheapest 3d printer[/url][url=http://december2018calendar.info/]December 2018 Calendar [/url][url=http://notepadplusplus.net/]notepad++ compare plugin[/url][url=http://chinaposttracking.info/]china post tracking[/url][url=http://july2018calendar.info/]July 2018 Calendar [/url][url=http://june2018calendar.info/]June 2018 Calendar [/url][url=http://september2018calendar.info/]September 2018 Calendar [/url][url=http://uscustomerservicenumber.com/]Rockstar Customer Support Number[/url][url=http://germanflag.info/]Printable Flag of Germany[/url]

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]