December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

$1 Hero

by Microfrog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

$1 HERO is a simple little game involving a boy named Bobby.

Bobby keeps getting picked on by bullies in school, and he's decided that he's had enough.
So it's time for him to go through all the bullies and teach them a lesson!
Armed with a stick, Bobby must jump over boxes, avoid rotten eggs, and thwap the bullies
with his trusty stick-weapon.

After a period of time, if you don't get a Game Over that is, you will proceed to
the next level. You start on Level 1, and keep going until Level 7.
You can see what level you're currently on by the number at the top-left of
the bottom screen. If you're at Level 1, it will say 1, if at Level 2, it will say 2, etc..
But watch out! With each level you'll get more points per move/attack, but the
speed of the game will increase.
If you make it through Level 7, you will win and receive a victory bonus of 1000000 Points!

The main controls are shown on the top screen in the main menu.
You can navigate through the main menu with the UP and DOWN buttons,
and select an option with ENTER.
The controls are:

A - Jump
S - Attack
Enter - Restart Game (When Game Over)
Space - Return to the main menu.
Up/Down - Choose option in main menu.
Left/Right - Completely useless.

The game is made in the style of retro handheld games from the
70's, 80's, and 90's. I hope you enjoy the game.

Thanks for playing!


Feel free to check me (and my other games) out at:

Twitter (@TheMicrofrog)
GameJolt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#492Audio2.53
#551Graphics2.82
#632Innovation2.71
#684Fun2.59
#815Overall2.59
#895Theme2.06
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

ObsidianSkin says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Heh, cool game. I liked the simple concept, and retro-style interface. Even it it was hastily put together, I can see the effort you put into it. Good work.

benjih says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:04pm

I love the Game'n'Watch feel the game has to it.

Microfrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

@ObsidianSkin: Thanks. I kinda came into Ludum Dare later than other people, because I don't usually pay attention to other comps that aren't on GameJolt. But I changed my mind when I saw the number of people entering it.

@benjih: I was trying to go for a Game & Watch look and feel, but I just didn't have time to really make graphics that really resembled G&W (like the base "shadows" that the sprites appear in, whatever they're called).

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Hmmm, it doesn't seem to be working on my box, the window opens and then crashes. Maybe because I'm on 64 bit?

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

The idea and style were awesome. But actually playing it is a bit tedious. Maybe it should react a bit faster.

Great job on the graphics and overall mood though. Nice retro tribute.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Love the retro game here nice job on the project :D

cudabear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07pm

I love the art style! Very unique.

Sound got a little repetitive. Some music would have been nice, but a style of which matches your game.

Gameplay is quite fun, but a little slow. It would be nice if it scales faster. Also, there is no penalty for spamming attack until you have to jump. In reality, it defeats the attack mechanic.

I quite like how this fits the theme.

Overall, a fun little game. This is a game I would enjoy playing again.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

This was pretty neat. I could imagine it being one of the little handhelds you styled it after.

I think you could start it off faster as the default speed is a bit slow.

The graphics are cute. The description for page up/down made me chuckle (yeah, I pressed them) and I like the fact you have the arrows in there that respond even though they don't do anything gameplay wise.

A nice little game!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:13am

I liked the gameboy aesthetic, but the game went way too slow at the beginning, which was a problem since that's where you went back to whenever you died.

SimonRhys says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Lovely cute little game! Well done :)

acp_ld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:42pm

great job recreating the handheld interface and having the buttons animate when pressed was a really nice touch

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:28am

Cool game, it weirdly doesnt fit on my screen however. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/OVru4uI3W-s

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:35am

I really liked the gameboy-esc look.

shard123 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Cool concept and design!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Cool little game. It gets fun if it's faster (the first levels are far too slow and/or too long).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]