December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

City of Death

by dznemotion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made in 48 hours to the 28th Ludum Dare competition. Your mission is to activate the bombs around the town to burn zombies are there.

[arrows] to walk, [z] to run.
Hide in the shadows signed by blue arrows.
A yellow arrow show when you approach a bomb.
Just pass above the bombs to plant it.
When you to plant 10 bombs, run to square to scape of the City of Death.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#96Audio3.45
#105Mood3.50
#212Overall3.38
#233Fun3.28
#307Graphics3.30
#437Humor2.36
#538Innovation2.85
#798Theme2.32

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48pm

City of Death? That's a title that I like! I liked the style of your game. The sprites need some polishing, but damn, how did you manage to make the game so immersive? Then noise in the screen can be a little bit too much, but I see what you were trying to do. To be honest, it's one of my favorite games so far. Good work!

Terry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54pm

This is cool! I've just started going through the games, but this is probably the best thing I've played so far :) Feels genuinely tense.

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Thank you, Alvarop. I started the project programming and no time to work the design better. I freaked out, hahaha, time was to short. I'm glad you liked it, but ... you got the helicopter? :) hahaha!
PS.: sorry bad english :p

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Can't say that most people would want to create an account just to try the game on the web. Would have liked a description as well... Aesthetics are great.

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Thanks Infin8, I update the descriotion. I did not know you needed an account to play on that website. I'll try to fix it.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Basic but well done!

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Surprisingly tense! Good job.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I really like this game. The noise / film grain when you're running is a nice touch, along with the drum loop fading in. The mood is excellent. I just wish I could understand what he's saying every time I walk into a shadow.

Definitely one of my favorites so far.

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

He says "the luck is coming back."

...

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Sweet game, man! Love the atmosphere you've created, and it manages to really give you that 'Oh shit zombies are chasing me!' feeling. Excellent!

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Hey really nice one, congrats !

"Oh my god..."

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Really great atmosphere! You did good!

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I uploaded the game in Game Jolt: http://gamejolt.com/games/action/city-of-death/20191/
Now, account require no more.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

The breakbeats rule!

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41am

Very fun, atmospheric and immersive propose... Excelent man!!!!!

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39am

Love the title although the control a bit clunky. My adrenaline quite high while playing this :D

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Fun and very tense! It was a bit hard for me :P I think with a little bit of polish it could be really great!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

WOW! Really good! Gameplay works well, nice graphics, sounds and atmosphere!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Weirdly reminded me of the top down bits from super probotector. I liked this, was pretty fun.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Very good!

DallOner says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Really good job!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00am

I liked your game, its funny and original, but the noise screen effect is too strong in my opinion

dznemotion says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

You should not get tired, hahaha.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Fun little game! Great atmosphere.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:28am

Nice, a little bit hard, but it's thrilling.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:08am

Amazing game, Amazing graphics! The concept and the atmosphere is epic. A flawless entry ;)

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Nice! I like the stealth mechanic. The audio & atmosphere were pretty good as well. Of course maybe the zombies wouldn't detect this guy so easily if he stopped talking for half a minute, haha.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice film grain and great 80's apocalyptic movie aesthetic! It was surprisingly stressful when you can tell where you need to go but there's zombies everywhere between you and your target. Nice work!

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:39am

Nice little game, I liked the visual effect making everything all blurry with retro-noise when the character runs too much. Solid work for a 48h compo!

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Very retro, loved the loading screen! a bit too difficult, but great work for 48 hours!

tnerb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:06pm

The bloody footsteps were a nice touch!

mystakin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:13am

I like the old-school GTA aesthetic mixed with the zombie gameplay. It also has a killer tone and mood that I enjoyed.

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]