December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A World Without Stars

by CptSteam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A World Without Stars is a choose-your-own adventure story, where you only get one choice - and its the important choice a man can make. A piece of scifi Interactive Fiction, this short story takes a few minutes to read, but resonates for eons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#889Overall2.47
#1729Coolness10%

Comments

angryfacing says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 12:21am

This was interesting. Normally, a CYOA where you only get one choice would be ridiculed, but in this case with the theme, it's not that bad, haha.

Was a great story though. :)

ral222 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:40am

Great story. The poignant endings really brought it home

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10am

Holy shit. So when are you gonna write a book?
Take my money TAKE IT NOW.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

It was alright.

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:04pm

The story was excellent and I like what you did with the theme. Well done

jomomomo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice!

madlee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:06am

Very cool, definitely not the kind of thing I expected to see and well written to boot!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04am

Very nicely written, you have a way with words. This was very well done.

Cipher says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:17am

Wish there was more to this! Really good job, I've always had a certain liking to these kinds of games :)

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:17am

Nicely written! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/CxUIxKQApqc

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Nicely told story and a good idea. But I have the feeling that there should be more alternatives to choose from. Is it not possible to open the other hibernation pod? Or use the oxygen supply of the escape pod for the whole ship?

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

You are a good writer. I’m glad you were able to feature your writing with this theme. Hope to see more.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Space is always fun.
It's a fact.

Eons though?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]