December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yogo Grenade

by jongtao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yogo Grenade is short for "You Only Get One Holy Hand Grenade"!
The goal of the game is to stay alive for as long as possible!
Will you be a be able to hold off a Fibonacci series of bunnies?

It was written in C++ with only Allegro.

Making Your Own Maps
====================

You can make your own maps! There's the map.txt as an example. 'M' are the wall tiles and, 'S' is the player spawn, and 'E' is Rabbit spawn. Don't put more than 256 characters for each line or over 1024 lines, because I didn't get to rewriting my C arrays to grow dynamically.



Running the game on Windows
===========================

Run the executable "yogo-grenade.exe" to play the game!.
It crashes on exit, though. I don't really know why



Running the game on Linux
=========================

Run the executable "yogo-grenade" to play the game!

The most common missing dependency is "libdumb1". Make sure you have it installed before you run the game. On any Linux distribution, just use your favourite package manager!
For instance, on Ubuntu or any Debian-like distribution, the command is "apt-get install libdumb1"

If your machine is behind on shared libraries, use "ldd yogo-grenade" to see all of its dependencies.



Edits
=====

The resources are now in a folder called "resources", since it was hard to find the executable among the resource files.
I editted the sound levels, since some people said the sounds of the bunnies was deafening.
Fixed a bug where bunnies kept getting stuck at walls.
I changed the bunny cap, since most peoples' computers seem to be able to handle the game at a decent performance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#201Humor3.06
#578Audio2.35
#597Theme2.68
#630Fun2.68
#729Graphics2.46
#741Mood2.41
#815Overall2.59
#857Innovation2.27

Comments

icedmetal57 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05am

Extracting it is not working for some reason. I keep getting an error when I try to.

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:08am

oh that happens when I've been playing around with 7zip settings sometimes. I'll try to get a proper one up.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17am

Cute little game. I like how the rabbits come in fibonacci numbers! And, of course, the holy hand grenade is awesome. But it's really easy to just camp the spawn portal with the machine gun button held-down. This might be solved with random spawn points, or maybe giving some reload time to the machine gun so you can just hold it down on top of the portal.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:23am

Oh those little rabbits were adorable!

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:50am

Nice little game.
I would have expected the rabbits killing me but they were rather harmless. ;)
Did fall off the map at one point but could not go anywhere or restart from the red death screen.

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I forgot to implement a restart. Unfortunately, you'll have to close the game each time you die :(

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

oooo rabbits jejeje

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Very cute!

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Loved the holy hand grenade reference! Liked the idea overall humor and overall game!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28am

I'm not sure what exactly made this game super fun, but it certainly was!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25am

Fun little game. I like the fact that you have to go forward more and more as the ennemies increase in number. The ennemy sound is horrible but it make us want to kill them even more so why not...

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47am

I love the source material. When the grenade went off, the fade to white was epic.

Rscar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34am

Big sharp teeth

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36am

The character is cutey. the bullets and grenade is hard to recognize though. Btw an error occur when I shut down this game(Windows ver.).

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10am

Cool funny game. I like the main character style and the rapid firing. The bunnies were a bit small on my screen, so I thought they were feathers or something. Including a level editor is always great. Works well on Windows 7.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Fun little game. I haven't seen libdumb before, so that was new to me. I got consumed around wave 25 or so - Too many bunnies.

I also enjoyed the Monty Python reference.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Not shure I totally understood the game. But looks pretty nice.

popogames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:08am

There is a lack of focus in the project. It has everything of something but just the basics. I would have liked to see one of the subjects expanded on. For example you could have focussed on the holy handgrenade as you only use it once. Or various enemies.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:20am

Haha! To start with I was thinking "eugh, this is too easy, you can just spam (spam spam spam) the portal and stop the rabbits getting any where but then I had to RUN AWAY.

Fun little game :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:14pm

+1 for Monty Python reference. The game itself needs some polishing and a lose-condition though.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

Just the sheer number of bunnies is the most entertaining thing. Didn't think the grenade added a whole lot to the game, but still had a bit of fun seeing how long I could survive.

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Cute, I like games with lots of enemies. The problem with exponential increase of numbers means that you die more or less at the same wave every time. The bunnies move too fast to avoid them, so the best strategy seems to be to stand on the leftmost floating platform and shoot down. A more interesting "smartbomb" mechanic could also benefit this game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]