December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

BoxBorg returns home

by ColonierGames - Jam Entry

You are a BoxBorg version 0.1, whose ship just crashed. You need to get to the nearest repair station, but your OS is damaged causing you to only be able to use ONE of your limbs at a time; you either run, roll, push buttons or shoot.

It might be buggy and there are only 4 levels, but if you have time and effort, you can make your own levels, there's an editor included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#274Innovation(Jam)2.82
#279Theme(Jam)2.73
#362Mood(Jam)2.65
#375Fun(Jam)2.58
#426Audio(Jam)2.06
#449Overall(Jam)2.61
#487Graphics(Jam)2.25

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Really an adf.ly that is so cheap of you to do that.

Besides that ok game.

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

adf.ly link was the graphics guy's idea, put direct link instead. Did you find any bugs?

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Really cool idea, I've not seen a game do this before!

Sim says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Nice game idea! I got the game to quit itself when I opened the door in the grassy area and then it closed on top of me. Finished it after trying again.

I found switching modes to be a bit awkward - it'd be nice to have a different key bound to each. Oh and the music stopped after the title screen, which was a shame because it's nice and quite long.

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Yea, bugs happen when you sleep 5 hours in 3 days... I'm glad that you liked it :)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:00am

Really solid stuff. And I hear you on the lack of sleep and growing bugs. For one of the days I was awake for 26 hours straight. Probably wasn't at peak condition at that point.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26am

I kept crashing whenever I'd get stuck in a wall or something from changing modes :x It's paced a bit too slowly IMO, but it's a really cool idea. I agree that it would have been nicer to have each mode bound to a button. Cool game anyway

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:11am

Sadly, it crashed after a few levels. But it's a very good idea!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:33am

The concept is interesting, but switching between modes feels a little clunky. I wish the movement was little bit faster. There are a few bugs and the game crashed both times I tried to play it so I couldn't finish it, sorry...

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Interesting idea but using the slow gravity as a puzzle mechanic felt really weird. Swithing between forms wasn't really used in any interesting way either but there is a good start for a game.

pusheax says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Good idea for a game. I think you could use height more and make falling interesting. Teleporters are not that fun, they are just obvious waypoints and sometimes you can't tell their orientation. Also I think that this game is similar to eets. The most interesting stuff could be planned beforehand and then played without user interaction. Similarly you could use 'stand', 'duck', 'jump' states and allow shooting only while standing, for example. Then user would plan moving path taking into account pits, enemies, obstacles. That would not suit the theme but it would be more interesting in my opinion. Other than that good work on graphics, level editor(!).

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Thanks! Bad thing is that I used half of my time to make the level editor and didn't have time to balance the game and fix all bugs :(

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:54am

I usually don't like puzzles but I enjoyed switching my robot between multiple forms. Btw, I couldn't finish the game because it eventually crashed. Embedding an editor with your game is a huge plus (at least to me). You, sir, have my like ;)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:45am

It gets emotional.
This lonely bot.
Both story and gameplay.
Even though it's not a lot, but good!

ezolotko says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Cool idea

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Cute robot, love the game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/tnNlwxp-9J8

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]