December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Coffin

by Dikkop - Jam Entry

Gravy is a cheap graveyardkeeper who also performs funeral ceremonies. Old ladies come to his church to see their husbands one last time before they die of heart failure themselves. There is just one problem... Gravy has only one coffin. The cheap bastard has an excellent solution to this problem though, he has a secret crypt where he keeps zombies so he can "reconstruct" the bodies of lost husbands. He then brings these bodies back to show to the old ladies to earn his keep.

Controls:
AD to Move left/right
WS to Move elevator up/down
Escape to exit game

- Remember the colors of the old lady's deceased husband
- Go down to crypt with the elevator, it has two floors
- Kill a zombie by Holding down the left mouse button and dragging and then release in the correct direction indicated by the arrows
- Drag body parts mathcing lady's husband to Inventory (bag in top right of the screen) to collect them
- Bring the collected body back to the old lady in time (and make sure it is the right body!)
- Empty the Inventory in the coffin by left clicking on the bag while in the church


Created by:
Bob Jacobs
Bob de Vries
Jelle van Aanholt
Lars Wilms
Valentijn Muijrers

Edit: Fixed win condition bug as permitted by rules. Enjoy!
Edit: Added some screenshots in this post!

The Post Ludum Dare Game is now up and running and will be updated every now and then, latest update: 18-12-2013

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Audio(Jam)4.10
#21Graphics(Jam)4.47
#42Mood(Jam)3.78
#45Innovation(Jam)3.66
#46Humor(Jam)3.61
#64Overall(Jam)3.69
#118Fun(Jam)3.31
#221Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

Azzar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Awesome
It looks and sounds gorgeous and is really fun to play.
Took some time to get used to, but that was totally worth it.

Poupi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Beautiful graphics and fun gameplay !
Maybe a bit hard :)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Sorry mate your link is broken

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:30pm

The link is broken for me, I get: "Nothing Here
The file you're looking for has been deleted or moved."

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:58pm

To hard for me but great pixelart. As you see we are only making vector graphics. I wished you could teach me how to pixel so cool. It's raining stars for you!

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Amazing art and audio, very solidly put together. Not a huge fan of the combat, way too difficult for my tastes, maybe if there were some easier zombies to get the hang of it.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03pm

wtf? This game is amazing... The game music is so awesome... character is nearly perfect designed... cool intro, cool tutorial. Please polish it and bring it to the next level :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03pm

A lot of great stuff going on here! Very polished and a really interesting concept. But way, way, way too hard!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03pm

The windows link worked for me.

The visuals and audio were superb! Great job on that. I also liked the idea of the "combat" and how all of that worked. Though it did take me a little bit of time to figure it out.

I thought I could just play the game without the tutorial but quickly found that to not be true haha. Good you guys had that in there.

While the game overall is very well polished, I didn't care too much for actually going to carry out each grannies wishes. Which I think for me was a combination of needing to memorize what she was looking for, then going down to the zombie horde, defending myself and being somewhat overwhelmed with all of the heads on the ground :/

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:08pm

The controls are a bit hard to get but it's still fun

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Very good graphics and audio. The mechanics are great but pretty hard, and pretty unforgiving. It is neat that the mouse attacks are done this way, but it feels a bit clumsy to do so.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Let me just say, AWESOME GRAPHICS! And really fun to play to! Cool combat moves!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:31am

Fun as hell. One of my favourites entries so far!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35am

Impressive graphics and music! I found it a bit difficult too, but I'm sure it's because i'm a pretty bad gamer :)

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:44am

Got "
ERROR in
action number 1
of End Step Event
for object Gravy:
Error in code at line 5:
coffx+=lengthdir_x(Mouse.disso/5,Mouse.dirro)
^
at position 31: Unknown variable disso
"
When attacking one zombie.


Awesome game! Really really awesome! It's challenging but fun. I really liked it!!! Awesome graphics, music... everything! I really laughed with the elevator music :P
One of the best games on this jam in my opinion. :D

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:45am

I'm not entirely sure about the combat system, it seems way to responsive to mistakes, mistakes that instantly kill you. But overall very awesome. Also the theme seems a little hacked into the game, but I know how brainstorm sessions go :P

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:47am

Looooks very good! Nice game!

pele says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:18am

Great mood, and beautiful graphics. Did not see a strong connection to the theme. The controls feel good. Takes some replays to get it right.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:10am

Neat idea, a little bit challenging at first.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30am

Took awhile to get used to the controls, but the gorgeous art kept me going.

runvs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Absolutely amazing!

Clavus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Wonderfully done. Had to get the hang of the combat system first, but then it went ok. After pleasing three of the grannies, it seemed the zombies stopped spawning and I couldn't find the right body parts any more to complete the new requests.

Tuuka says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Excellent work! The concept, graphics and sound are great :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I love this pixel art style! *_*

lennaert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:40pm

It was also difficult for me, I think the time to attack is just a bit too short. That elevator music is priceless, though; awesome overall.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:29am

Dude, Links for my game are working again

crockid5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Way way way way too hard, doesn't fit the theme at all, but the music and graphics are gorgeous. !

zequack says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:55am

great graphics, sound, concept and gameplay ! well done !

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I see how it fits the theme, and the overall presentation as well as the tutorial is done very well :) Kudos

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Wow, this is a really excellent, polished-looking entry. Gameplay is quite difficult, but it's nonetheless really fun. Great job!

natpat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Took me a few tries not to die instantly but I eventually got it though - I died looking for some brown trousers, I could never find any! Loved the graphics and music.

Cash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I really suck at this game but it's well done,congratulations

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Even after reading the tutorial and the description above I have no idea how to kill a zombie... :/ Restarted the game about 20 times and tried several things, but nothing seemed to work. Also, I needed to struggle with the windows task manager for quite a while to end the game, since there was no option for that and neither ALT-F4 nor telling the OS to close the window had any effect.
However, it's pretty clear that the visuals and audio are just amazing, and the gameplay indeed seems very well thought out and innovative.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Wow! This game is incredible. But I don't understand, why you don't let spawn new zombies so you always have to fight against them (fighting makes a lot of fun!). Anyway, the graphics, the sounds, the music - just perfect. One of my favorite games so far respective the aesthetics!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:00am

Awesome audio! The graphics are also incredibly charming and the animations are great, especially when you die. The core idea of the game is also insanely innovative, even if the theme connection is a bit of a stretch. That's my only gripe in an otherwise stellar game.

One of my favorites so far!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Oh my, pretty awesome game! The graphics, the gameplay, the atmosphere are really well done!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Added you to the Rad Game Roundup: http://www.phantomgreen.com/2013/12/ludum-dare-28-rad-game-roundup/

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Excellent work on this one. Graphics, art and gameplay knock it out of the park. you can be proud of this one.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Err, I really like the concept and gameplay, but boy is this thing brutal! It's hard to enjoy when I an barely do anything. Still a good entry, but a little more time to input the swipes, maybe?

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Very fluent gameplay, and very nice graphics and effects. But I think the difficulty level is too high/unforgiving. I would have had more fun with the game, when the number of zombies and the length of the killing moves start simple (i.e. less zombies with only one-direction kill move) and get harder over the time.
But very nice game :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:43pm

This game is visually stunning, especially during the combat. I found the combat to be tricky and unforgiving at first, especially with some of the longer sequences, but eventually I got used to it and it became smooth and fluid. I found it entertaining having to sift through the dismembered body parts, trying to find the one that you think might match what you saw earlier. It was a bit disturbing and therefore added to the mood of the game quite a lot. One minor complaint is that the two audio tracks were out of sync, so sometimes one would cut out while the other continued to play. Also, trying to change direction mid elevator ride would just cause the elevator to stop and releasing body parts while in the elevator would cause them to get stuck in the wall, but these are both only minor complaints. I also really like the concept. At first I did not get how you used the theme, but, after reading your explanation, I get how you integrated it in. All in all, this game is a very well put together and polished game, especially when considering the time limit, with perhaps some minor bugs here and there.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Perhaps this game could have used a difficulty setting, as I see many people complaining about the combat being brutal and unforgiving. Perhaps the difficulty levels could increase/decrease the time limit for the game and the combat and increase/decrease the amount of arrows in the combat.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:12pm

This is reeaally hard on a trackpad. Besides that, amaaaaazing game. 5/5 !!!

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:11am

Very nice graphics ! Great work !!

Paco says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Very beatiful and fun. So far, the best game I'v played this ludum dare.

I loved searching throug the body parts and searching zombies like "Not, this one not, oh this one is perfect! come little buddy!"

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:36pm

That fighting mechanic is so fun - this would be an awesome mobile game, but it works surprisingly well with the mouse. Difficulty was a little punishing (should start off a little easier and ramp to that level) but overall one of my favourite entries!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]