December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Path To Bliss

by bensoto - Jam Entry

One Path to Bliss is our entry for this Ludum Dare. The team was 4 of us, all artists by trade.

While there is overlapping talents among us, we all fell into the rolls we were best/quickest at: Art Lead, Engineer, Animator, Sound.

We started friday night after work by mulling over the concept and pitching out game ideas to each other over drinks at the local irish pub.

By 10:30 we had a strong concept. We're all fans of Drop 7 and of Triple Town
so we thought we would work on something inspired by those mechanics. With the mechanic in mind and an idea to make things as happy as possible, we started thinking out the visual and musical aesthetic.

For music, both Ween and Plone were mentioned as reference points.

For art, the only reference points I remember someone mentioning were the weird as hopping heads from Howls Moving Castle and of course Mario backgrounds and pallets. Oh, maybe some Adventure time too.

Hope you like the game. There is lots more we still want to do but not enough time to add all the features or kill all the bugs.

EDIT: posted web version and PC version. no code updates but we will have to do one to get the android version to work.
EDIT: reposted webversion with time with non corrupt font.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Audio(Jam)3.84
#71Graphics(Jam)4.19
#179Humor(Jam)2.71
#236Overall(Jam)3.15
#294Fun(Jam)2.79
#335Mood(Jam)2.72
#430Innovation(Jam)2.37
#531Theme(Jam)1.79
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Flawless art and sound! The controls were a bit weird though
You should compile for Web or Windows so other people can enjoy :)

bensoto says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:17am

Just posted the web version but for some reason the Score isn't showing up. I think its a font rendering issue.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:42am

There's something very nice about placing those smiley/angry faceblocks. Liked this one, nicely done! :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:47am

Love the graphics and sound. :D
A few little gameplay bugs though, like sometimes all the blocks of a certain color vanish, and it tends to be slow to recognise when you have paired them, making it hard to beat the impending doom approaching. :P

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:02pm

good job! looks nice, sounds are great.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:30pm

The animated faces are great! It's a bit too hard to figure out what'll happen when you drop a piece, though, which hurts the gameplay a fair bit.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Audio and music is just superb, and it's got a solid gameplay! Would work great as an ios or android game!

sekaru says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Nice graphics and music. The gameplay was a bit basic though.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Nice faces in the blocks

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Not so clear about the gameplay. But I can tell that it is well designed.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:20pm

The blocks are cute. This would also work well as smartphone game.

bensoto says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 8:54am

thanks everyone! it was fun making it

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]