December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YourOneAndOnly

by npgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First dare, let me know if I did anything wrong. game is short and no real ending. full project in source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#40Theme3.90
#118Mood3.46
#178Audio3.18
#198Graphics3.60
#248Innovation3.28
#289Overall3.27
#386Humor2.50
#677Fun2.60

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

Cute I do like what you have done here, I think a bit of gay romance too happened nice to see that you didn't care about that one.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07am

Man, there are A LOT of people making out in that park!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Pretty cool and funny. Interesting concept and congrats on first LD Nick!

desmarkie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Love the graphics in this. It's a nice little thing :)

npgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:32pm

@ParaPup Thanks, I thought about filtering who could love who towards statistics, but it seemed completely wrong given the concept. Only thing I didn't like was all the narcissistic people falling in love with their doppleganger

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Really enjoyed this game! I was dreading there being an odd person left over at the end who would be forever alone ;) Fitting music, really nice particles and I liked the fact you could set your own pace. A little slow at the start I think I would have preferred the characters to walk a little faster. I think an antagonist would have spoiled it

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Very well done! Great asthetics and sounds plus a very original idea.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Wow.
Why it doesn't work this way in real life? D:

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice little game. It was fun to play. :)

Mirroar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Congrats and nice work. I like this take on the theme. The art and audio also work out nicely :)

npgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

@jimmypaulin I added one at first but I never saw him after making the matches, turns out I never added him to the stage, so he/she would wander the map completely invisible to their true love who had already found love before they even got a turn :'(

Joror says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Simple but interesting, yet at times I would want to be able to sprint to the next love. Sounds like life. :D

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

Really cute and polished. I liked it. The AI seems to like hugging one of the walls, so normally you just go to a corner and look up and side and you find who you are looking for.

npgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:49am

@ratboy2713 The ai wouldn't listen to me :( , I wanted them to follow the paths for a bit then get back into the grass.

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:51am

Cute little game! Really like the idea, and it's nicely made

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58am

Cute!

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:59am

That is super cute, I really loved it! The characters were a bit slow, but the graphics, heart effects, theme and everything else more than made up for that!

tcarter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:03am

I liked your use of strong player feedback (blushing and particle effects) mixed with some noise (same effect from already-matched pairs). The setting was very unique as well.

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22am

Cute! Very simple, but I like it. Nice music, too.

npgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:39am

Thanks for all the kind words everyone, I really appreciate it!

@tcarter I wanted the hearts sound to stay the same since the love is still the same.

madlee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:33am

Cute game. The interesting thing I noticed while playing it is that it has a sort of reverse difficulti curve - it gets easier as you approach the end. Not really a criticism, just an observation. Good job!

acronaut says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:32am

nicely done on the sprites, and nice foilage animation..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]