December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

POLITICS SIMULATOR

by gnargle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A chance to experience life as a politician. All your choices matter, because you only have one chance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#254Theme3.32
#301Humor2.75
#528Innovation2.86
#534Mood2.70
#652Overall2.82
#725Audio1.75
#728Fun2.52
#925Graphics1.95
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Does the executable leave any data behind? I mean, it's great that you only can play it once, but... I don't want any remnants (cookies, ...) on my computer.

Apart from that, it's a nice text-adventure (I believe that's how you call the genre^^)

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I like how majority of my gameplay was practically damage control. Simple but I had fun with it. Could have done a bit better with the font, had a bit of trouble reading it at some points.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Really liked it! Reminded me of Democracy 3 in a simpler way, giving the player only one chance instead of a lot. Cool stuff!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:09am

Gotta balance dat budget.

gnargle says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Yeah, should probably point that out - there's leftover data in %localappdata%, if you want to delete that once you're finished with the game.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Nice idea at all. The font was a little bit hard to read. I know I also had no time for my game, but also in your game music would have been very nice.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Good portrayal of the lose-lose situation that politics usually represents.

rezil says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Oh man the choice of font is really hurting my eyes and makes it hard to read the text. I think a different font would be better since there's a lot of text. Other than that it's pretty fun. :)

Also, I guess I did pretty well even though I sold arms to a foreign country!

http://i.imgur.com/M9MLZFu.png

Crabman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:49pm

The font is a bit hard to read, but that's a pretty interesting idea. :) Also interesting how we both used the theme the same way. :D

WojWorks says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:17pm

A fun little politics simulator. The results of my playthrough just show how *sarcasm* awesome *sarcasm* a politician I would be.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:18pm

First impression : urgh the font is hard to read !
Last impression : urgh only one year ? I want more !

Devon says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Font was hard to read, but made me feel like I was playing a political pixel art game. Great bureaucratic feel. THANKS OBAMA. Also this game is actually called THANKS OBAMA (or whatever the brit equivalent is).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]