December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Treat?

by Garrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Endless running game following a dog that needs treats! Jump and avoid obstacles in the road and on the sidewalk to reach the pet store!

Your owner wanted to reward you with a massive pile of dog treats after you went on a walk with him, but when he emptied the box out into your bowl, only one came out! You refuse to to only eat one treat, so it's time to get the treats you deserve! Run to as many pet stores as you can and take the free treats! But remember, only one treat per dog!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#146Humor3.24
#324Fun3.13
#371Graphics3.17
#390Mood2.92
#399Overall3.13
#486Audio2.55
#498Theme2.86
#786Innovation2.44

Comments

Shivers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Really fun!

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

Difficult game. Could get only one extra treat.

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

The game is pretty fun, but i've to wait till next level (bone) til I need need to move up and done.. mostly jump works fine.. overall good work! ;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

The puns. So many puns.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Cute take on the endless runner genre. It'd be nice to be able to jump while moving, but no worries. Nice, clean graphics, too. Good job!

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

Made it 89 yards. It's difficult, but I really like the look of it. The collision detection feels a bit kludgy, it would probably be improved by shrinking the hitboxes. The music is really good.

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05am

Ok guys, I shrunk the hit boxes a little bit as suggested, so it's easier now!

notajetski says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56am

totally impressive that this is done entirely in HTML5!

that being said, it took me a bit to realize that there's 4 lanes to switch between, and the animation between each could definitely be snappier. that being said, the fact that this is totally procedurally generated is awesome!

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16am

Fun little runner game. I like the dog animations and how you got the theme through in the plot.

It plays very fluidly.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

Cool game. I liked the "end level" part with the bone in the shop, it's a cool feature that many endless runners don't seem to have and gives the player a break in between dodging and jumping. The dog hurt noise scared me the first time I heard it though :(

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Cool graphics :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

Absolutely fun, love it!

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18pm

cool game nice art well done

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:01am

Reminds me a lot of something like paperboy. The puns are great!

MaxguN says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I like the animation and the game is fun, well done :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Pretty nice, I like the NES-resembling style.

Dhy says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I like the art and the game is fun :)

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:32am

Interesting!
And Pretty hard :D

smash ball says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

Pretty good, though it felt a bit slow for a runner.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]