December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Samurai's Lonesome Heart

by btwj - Jam Entry

The Samurai's only and lonesome heart, protect it with your life. Use the new sword combat system bestowed upon you to strike down your enemies.

Downloads and Links




BluMist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Wow! So good. I had to play through twice it was so fun. Thanks!

Waynetron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:34am

It wasn't obvious that I needed to hit the enemies sword. I kept trying to hit low and middle on the first enemy to get underneath his weapon.
Simply having the first enemy with is sword at mid would help I think. Once the user has disarmed that first enemy, then it is more obvious what the goal is. Either that or have the first baddy just stand there rather than running at you.

I like that the sound and visuals work together to set the tone and mood. Feels very Japanese.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37am

Ha, that was awesome. I liked the art and sounds... except there's a huge audio glitch when you get to the sumos.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40am

i love the feel of this, well done and fun

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03am

I really like the presentation of the game, awesome job!

btwj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48am

Thanks everyone for the positive comments! I am really pleasantly surprised because I ran out of events in Construct2 because I only have the free version. I had to cut out a bunch of stuff including a tutorial enemy, so I'm very glad that most of you understood how to play!

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02pm

This is cool, though it feels a little slow in my opinion. I wanna be able to slice things at a good pace.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

The audio glitch when you reach the sumos took a star away from you in the audio category. Also, if you miss a sumo, you get stuck at that section, and the only option is to reload the game. Disarming was a nice mechanic, but it took me a couple of attempts to realise what was going on.

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

LOVE the game over screen.

Nice game, although it was really confusing for me to understand that I had to hit the swords and not the enemies themselves. I have to say that the delay of the controls did not help :)

Really neat atmosphere. A bit buggy though, enemies go through walls often. Polish this up and then publish it, it's a good game!

(Hardly fitting with theme tho)

conormn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice job, keep going with it!

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Wow, I loved the visuals and mood, you really did something here ! Took me a while to figure out how to kill the enemies, and then I was so stressed, I fled (and died) when I saw one even though the sword was mid position ! And the death screen is so intense it made me smile :)

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:20pm

well done, great job.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Had fun, clever, concept could be developed into a long game, I think.

dznemotion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04pm

very nice pixel art and minimal design. I tried 5 times to end the game. Congratulations.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Very nicely presented, nice non text tutorial helps me get in to the game, though I could not pass the first enemy.

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice blocking mechanic and nice graphics. The boss broke on me and just charged through the entire level making a rather jarring noise the first time. Second time through I completed it. Would have carried on if there was more content. :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:07am

Absolutly best in-game tutorial! But... I've found scary sound glitch near sumo bros

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:33am

It's quite a nice game, but the use of JUMP isn't really necessary. If you like, you can add flying enemies (although you can't swing while jumping), or just focus on the enemies, without jumping obstacle. It will be easier for you, and you can do something else besides adding jump.

Anyway, it's a great game

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:10am

Nice but a little bit buggy.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:24am

not bad! i really dug the vignette effect and simple visuals. i think the sumo bros enemy bugged out because it kept repeating a sound effect really loud and one ran off the stage.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]