December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Depths of Kargron

by Kruithne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

== The Depths of Kargron ==

THE IDEA:
A dungeon-crawler styled game where you start with one crate in the room, this crate is your key to complete the entire game. You must push it through every level and use it to complete various challenges along the way and progress to each level.

In the dungeons you will find traps which can break the crate, mobs which will attack the crate if it's not kept away from them. Your magical attacks can also break the crate so be careful where you fire!

HOW TO PLAY:
Move the character using WASD or the arrow keys, whichever you prefer. To push the crate simply walk into it. Reload the game by hitting R.

NOTES:
Due to running out of time the game only has one initial level with no implementation of monsters and very roughly coded traps. I wanted to include some kind of puzzle with beams in the first chamber, but I ran out of time!

If I continue with the development of this project after Ludum Dare I will be sure to add lots of monsters, puzzles and traps all around as well as polishing things like collision!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Theme3.50
#356Innovation3.11
#489Graphics2.95
#559Overall2.94
#573Mood2.65
#901Fun2.16
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

Jesse_070296 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:00am

Great game can't wait to see it grow and get more cool features!

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Great concept, good job on the map and making it a challenge to get the crate through!

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Fun game. Collision detection could be polished up a bit, the first thing I did was knock the box a pixel or two downward on accident and had to start over. Once I got a feel for the size of the character I enjoyed it.

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

The game gives me some nostalgia of old retro games I used to play when I was little. Tho I agree with the above comment regarding collision detection. The character might be a little too big in comparison to its graphical representation.
Keep up the work!:)

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

Could you make the player move more quickly? I found it was hard to figure out where to go, and had to scout the area before I knew what to do.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:39pm

good concept and use of the theme

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:34am

Would've wished that a few more colors where used maybe.
But the concept really kicks ass.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:20pm

It would be fun if the wizard could use magic to help somehow. Maybe if he could teleport with a cool down and there was a timer for the level. I found myself scouting ahead to find what I have to do but if there was a timer maybe I wouldn't.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]