December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

NUCLEAR

by backflipppp - Jam Entry

Hello my Name is Tom Rumpf, im 17 year old and this was my first Ludum Dare and i created this game with Unity3d, blender and photoshop. Its set right after a Nuclear Explosion and the Player needs to try escape with a van and survive the disaster.
You use the flashlight with your left MouseButton, and you can end the game at all time with "Esc", everything else is explained.
I know the level is a bit short, but its all i had time for, i hope u enjoy playing :)
I hope to see everyone at the next Ludum Dare, and also hope that i will find someone to team up with for the next one.
im a 3d artist and really bad at programming and didnt have enough, so there might happen some errors in the game haha :)

LITTLE TIP FOR EVERYONE WHEN U ARE OUTSIDE, DONT GET TO CLOSE TO THE MONSTERS, OR THEYLL TRY GET AND EAT YOU! (Hint: try walking a bit on the left but still towards the smoke, the monsters are standing after that small building)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Mood(Jam)3.77
#68Audio(Jam)3.62
#139Graphics(Jam)3.79
#201Overall(Jam)3.23
#274Innovation(Jam)2.82
#337Fun(Jam)2.68
#341Theme(Jam)2.55
#965Coolness49%

Comments

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Your game is quite big in size, I don't think lots of people will download it. Just saying:) You might want to make it smaller. I liked this game, it was very athmospheric. The 'putting on masker' animation was cool. At some point however I felt through the ground, beneath the surface :( The game itself had a very good/dramatic feel to it due to the sounds and music. Which is definitely the best part in this game!

backflipppp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:16pm

yeah i tried everything to make it smaller but the textures and models take up quite some place :) where exactly did u fall through the surface?

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Why won't you make a web version? It's on unity anyway!)

Pretty tough to play. But it's well stuffed with vegetation and the predators are pretty nice to look at.

backflipppp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I dont know how to make a web version :(

backflipppp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:28pm

ok im working on a web version NOW ! :D

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I opened it up and the first scene looked pretty! Unfortunately, it ran pretty choppily on my laptop (Asus K50IJ, dual-core 2GHZ with onboard graphics and 3GB ram) so I couldn't really play it :(

baton4ik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Very nice and atmospheric. It's very hard to play the game in windowed more because you didn't lock the cursor.

backflipppp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

if the game runs choppily try setting the graphics to fast :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

This was very nice and big too, I liked to explore this wonderful world and it was done so well.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Interesting game and nice mood. A lot of potential here and a good jam. Well done

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Atmospheric, although I think it's way too dark. Good choices for music and sound!

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I tried it about 3 - 4 times (eventually played in "Fast" rendering mode without the shadows). I still don't know what devoured me in the forest. Not sure what the use of the mask is, seems I could breath fine outside. I probably just didn't get far enough, oh well!
Nice dramatic feel to it though, that's for sure.

Halfire120 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Nice entry! 3D was pretty impressive, however i found the sheer abundance of things a little overwhelming.
The gas mask was a little obtrusive, and i couldn't see as much of the screen as i would have liked.
Didn't see the monster coming and got eaten :P

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I liked the mood. I didn't know what to do when the flashlight went out, so I tried to just move faster next time, but then I just got eaten by a predator. It's very hard to see with the flashlight anyway through that mask. The light doesn't seem to cast far ahead of you.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice atmosphere, astonishing graphics and good choice of audio. I liked the mask, you can't see properly with one on (I suppose). I got eaten by something...

asimilon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Wouldn't work for me (OSX Lion) :(

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Very good effort! But, I had to turn down my mouse sensitivity because the camera was out of control. Also I tried several times, but couldn't get past the fallen barrels. But excellent environment, mood, theme, and sound!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01pm

None of the controls work on my mac :( saaaaadface. It looks awesome tho! Haha, I can look around with the mouse :)

bodsey says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Really nice 3D graphics, but does it have to be so dark ? I hardly was able to play :(

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Great art, but very buggy (at least on my computer). I could clip through all sorts of things and see unrendered back-edges.

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Very nice mood.

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31pm

As much as I want to play this game, this game is very buggy to me, I hope to see it finished as it looks decent :)

ZXeno says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:53am

Very atmospheric. The mask made it insanely difficult to see what was going on. I didn't see the monsters before they ate me. The atmosphere though, was absolutely awesome! Some tweaking to the mask visibility and flashlight mechanic would really carry this far! I hope you keep working on it. :)

crockid5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:47pm

I don't do well with scary games ;(

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:55am

Hm, this is a tough entry to judge. Clearly, gameplay could use more work (it's possible to get stuck in places, where ideally you should simply die; game tells you to search some destroyed building, when there are actually four of them around, and the building you need is nearly impossible to spot). But the atmosphere is good and environment is nice as well. Was the team a bit bigger, this could become a really nicely done survival game.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:08am

Could you create a linux executable?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]