December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ROOFTOP

by blasmena - Jam Entry

Remember: when two cats fight, the cat on top wins.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#265Fun(Jam)2.84
#275Audio(Jam)2.83
#293Humor(Jam)2.24
#302Theme(Jam)2.66
#332Overall(Jam)2.94
#338Mood(Jam)2.71
#373Graphics(Jam)2.81
#416Innovation(Jam)2.41

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

pretty hard and a little confusing, but overall enjoyable :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

You only get one winner? Ah well still a good play and nice

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14pm

HA! cats! It is a little hard to tell what is going on with the various items. art is a simple, but cool style :)

blasmena says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

thanks! what do you mean one winner?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:18pm

The art style was cool, the platforming was solid, and the cat fighting system was interesting, but the game was WAY too short. Also the background music was very repetitive.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Good game but a little bit awkward to control. The animations play too fast too.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Very fun game, love the play on cats having nine lives.

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

this is cool!

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Your web link sends me to gamejolt which only lets me download the game or "quick play" which is just a slightly faster download the game. :(

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

sorry about that :c

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54am

The physics and animations were way too fast. Maybe it's just my computer. But interesting gameplay and graphics! Nice job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:20am

Nice concept and nice colour scheme. Attacking the cats was a bit finnicky, but overall the game was a good experience.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21am

I like it. Could have had a bit more explanation.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22am

twitchy, but amusing. :-) i wish the web player didn't bug out, but the download worked out. good work!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00am

Mechanics are a bit clunky, but the graphics and audio are quite charming!

Crigs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31am

GUYS PROTIP the key to winning encounters is to hold up and wait for cats to come to you. Guaranteed success.

Great package overall! A fighting mechanic like this is difficult to get just right for everyone; I feel that for me (I'm not a twitch player), it's hard to time the jumps just right so that I'm on top of jumping white cats. With a bit of tweaking (perhaps some hangtime in air?), I can see players really getting into mastering the mechanic.

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41am

You have my word I'll be tweaking this until it feels just right, thanks a lot Crigs, loved your game.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice first game! Like the style and simple jazz riff for music.

Miltage says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:39pm

When I reached the first cat the game froze for me. I used Gamejolt's quick play option.

blasmena says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:44pm

damn, I'll check it out, thanks

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Good game.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:33am

I digged the art style a lot.

Its kind of Joust with cats! Who doesn't want joust with cats!

blasmena says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:23am

oh, didn't think of that! very glad you liked it!

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Nice.

glovecat says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Nice game :D The music is cool.

tnerb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Couldn't get it to work when I downloaded for windows, but it looks nice from the screenshots!

kirbytails7 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:08am

Pretty fun. The hitboxes on the other cats feel a little off, though.

Articulated says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:35pm

A pretty fun game! Good job getting a music loop done in time, added to the atmosphere. Not so sure about how it connects with the theme, and the cats' hitboxes are quite a bit bigger than the sprites, leading to a couple of frustrating deaths. Overall a fun game though :)

blasmena says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:09am

Thanks a lot for the comments everybody! Sadly I have a mac so I couldn't play all of your games :C I really appreciate all the feedback, it's been great for me. I've never made a game before but from now on I wont miss a LD.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]