December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Existence

by donaldducky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

tech: javascript / canvas / css
tools: grunt, backbone, underscore, jquery, requirejs, keymaster

Used Chinese characters for the sprites.

Coded using VIM!

First LD!

Edit (Dec 16 9:30pm EST):
For those of you who can't make out what those Chinese characters are, I've created a guide here:

http://pyjamacoder.com/ld28/help

I recommend you try playing through the game yourself to get the full experience (it's not very hard or long) but if you get stuck, here's a walkthrough of the entire game:

http://pyjamacoder.com/ld28/walkthrough

Both of those links can also be found on the game's page itself.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#46Innovation3.86
#139Graphics3.77
#275Mood3.11
#283Fun3.20
#296Overall3.26
#538Humor2.15
#751Theme2.43
#813Audio1.06

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

I knew that one year of Japanese lessons would come in handy one day. Pretty nice and simple game. Good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Is it just two screens?

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56am

For a game created with javascript, the result is good! It's a little honorable tile game for a first LD!

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22am

Great job on this. I felt a little bad, since the tree was pleading with me. But it had to be done.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24am

I really like the jkli shooting control. Its a lot of fun and the simple shot animations are perfectly subtle. I hope more people see your game.

Crigs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

I really enjoyed the experience and symbolism. I'm glad you wrote a walkthrough because I would have never been able to finish it otherwise. Great job!

Crigs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56am

Just wanted to add that I hope you take this further; I really think using Chinese characters is a brilliant idea and the resulting experience was very, very cerebral, even if very literal in this entry.

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Damnit, too short! You should really expand it!

donaldducky says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Thanks for the kind comments!

I really enjoyed creating the game and want to share my experience. I've created a post in my journal but more will follow as time permits:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?category_name=ld-28&author_name=donaldducky

If you get stuck, I recommend reading/using the walkthrough to get the full experience of the game. It's not very long but I don't want to take up too much of your time since there are so many games to try :D

Here's the link: http://pyjamacoder.com/ld28/walkthrough

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Wow, the asthetics blew me away! One of the reasons why i learned a little chinese (forgot everything).

IMO it was relatively easy to end, so i played it twice, for 'both' endings. Great!

Is there some relevant folklore innit, i guess so?

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:17am

I burnt the world tree. Like a boss.

Great concept man, really enjoyed it.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:46am

Awesome game. Very innovative to use Chinese characters to represent things.

triforcespark says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:53am

I was actually thinking about also using Chinese characters for one of my games, and this just showed how useful (and powerful) they are.
Nice story you got there.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Interesting take. Glad you provided that character table. The shooting and different kinds of attacks felt cool. I'm not sure how the theme fits in, though. Still, great aesthetics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]