December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

LITH

by Novodantis - Jam Entry

Enter the labyrinth of LITH! There's treasure to be found, but there are also strange stone robots called Liths patrolling its passages. Don't let them get you and you may just make it back alive to claim your score!

UPDATE: No changes to the actual game, just changed link to Dropbox instead of Drive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#11Mood(Jam)4.15
#40Audio(Jam)3.78
#95Overall(Jam)3.54
#125Fun(Jam)3.30
#152Graphics(Jam)3.74
#274Theme(Jam)2.74
#285Innovation(Jam)2.79
#344Humor(Jam)2.06

Comments

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Very cool, now i know how pacman felt like chasing food.
Great mood and very thrilling to play.

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Very nice looking game, and nice sound creates a good atmosphere the mouse movement was a bit too sensitive for me.

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Great atmosphere. Seemed a bit hard to find the exit, but the mood put me on edge for the whole game. Literally sitting here with goosebumps.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Well done textures. The reflection of the red light (especially when this thing is right after you) gives you thrills. Also, the sound of this thing!

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Wow! This is really thrilling game. Great job with the mood! I was always afraid of what was behind the next corner.

lapayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I really like the mood of the game. The sound of lingering robots, moving through the corridors and the feeling of being alone in the labyrinth are great. What could have improved the experience would be a lower sensitivity of the camera movement, because it was still really fast even with the dpi set to 400, and therefor felt a little bit odd in comparison to the rather slow movement speed. Also, I think it was a very good design decision to give the robots / Liths the bright red light on their head so one can see them around from behind a corner.

Doccrazy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Ex-ter-mi-nate!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Holy **** that's a tense game! Great use of light, I got stuck down a dead end, knew a bad guy was behind me and didn't dare turn around.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

If some Let's Play's of this don't spring up I'll be shocked. Forgot to say in my previous post but it reminds me of the dos game 3Demon (which terrified my when I played it as a child), but it's 10x scarier.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49pm

At first I wanted to ask why didn't you put a web version of it as long as it's on unity, but then I played it and understood why - the atmosphere makes it all :)
It definitely needs a full screen to play
Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Very Tense. This game is pretty freaken scary!

Novodantis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Thanks all!

Also, apologies for the clumsy Google Drive link, I knew I shoulda used Dropbox...

I'm definitely looking to neaten this up for a post-Dare version (and make the Liths a bit more sophisticated; my attempts to smooth their movement resulted in them being frustratingly conservative with their paths).

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nice looking entry ! And so is the atmosphere. Nice job !

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Yeah nice idea, and the atmosphere is good ! The robots succeeded at scaring me ! The difficulty with this concept is to add more interesting choices, since player hasn't lot of informations at his disposal. Perhaps it could be interesting to add mechanics of vision beyond walls at short distance & freezing of robots !

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:33am

Old school like FPS.
Both the mood and robots really add to the gameplay.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:11am

OMG this game is so thrilling and exiting! I got more bump-scare with this than with Slender or any other scary game. THESE are my favorite type of game! You gave me a new favorite ^^

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:33am

Oh, man, that was intense! You set a wonderful mood. I liked this game a lot. I only wish I could move a little faster. But I guess that's the idea :D

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:19pm

These daleks are scary :3 The atmosphere is great and the red light is a nice gamedesign touch.
The controls need to be improved.
I didn't play the game too long because I have not been hooked by the universe in which it is set. A simple mechanic like this one could use a bit of background story and a higher goal than just "collect gold".

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Haha yes! That was good stuff. The music really added to the mood of the game. It actually was sort of scary :P Rating's up!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

great looking game and really sets the mood well. i wish i could run or sneak :)

Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:06am

Simple but polished game, good job! You can improve it by adding some features to your labyrinth ;)

Alex Rose says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:20pm

This was really fun. My only qualm is that the mouse sensitivity is super high, I'd try and turn a little and turn huge, kept getting me killed. But it's really cool. Level design is great (although it's super hard to remember where I've been). The robot is scary as shit. The audio creates great mood.

I'm going to come back and play this for longer once the competition is over.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]