December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Minute of Light

by erebusman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You find yoursel fin a graveyard with a flashlight that has only about one minute of light left. You can turn the light on and off but you need it desparately to avoid the undead in your way.

Can you find your way out before you die?

Missing Many things including sound and animations but its a playable game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#376Theme3.12
#453Mood2.83
#544Graphics2.84
#795Overall2.63
#818Innovation2.37
#819Fun2.37
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Good use of the theme, my health kept dropping though even with nothing near me. Not sure if thats a bug or not.
Good game mechanic though with the light.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33am

Really nice! Could see pretty well without the light though. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35am

Although the game could have used a little bit more love in execution, I like the concept.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36am

Hey good idea. Hard to finish a game in totally darkness :) But I'm a noob :) Is there a way to reload the lights timer?

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:44am

cool game. I love it how you die to start the game. I wonder if there's a hidden metaphore there.
I love the fact the the game is short and playable and understandable wihtout comlpicated tutorials or a wall of text explanations.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

Looks like a very fast created game. The idea is good but hard to finish. Graphics are missing as you already told us. Waiting for further games from you. Great work :-) Thumps up!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:39pm

The things I didn't like is that the rotation was too "immediate". That felt unnatural to me! XD

erebusman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:07am

Thanks for the great feedback everyone. A few responses

@Lacutis: Basically a bug ; the zombies range is probably too far. I didnt have time to fine tune it. I also wanted behavior that would cause the zombie to pause for a moment before attacking as if it were slow/stupid to give you a chance to hit it before it hit you.

@Crabman : Thats intended you should (depending on your screen brightness) be able to see the white cemetery construction easily enough to navigate the maze without light but NOT be able to see the zombies so you risk getting hurt if you cant snap on your light from time to time :)

@psycho : not for this Ludum Dare comp it was my theme element however I would like to add a pickup that the player could get to recharge the light. I think permanently running out of light is too harsh.

@ Soundguy: awesome thank you!

@ AlanZucconi: Thanks I totaly agree! I would like a much better movement and camera control for sure!

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Really nice idea, but I'm not used to the rotation.

SimianLogic says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:04am

I feel like the strafe speed was crazy high compared to the move speed. Like the light mechanic, but need to work on collisions (felt like I was losing health when nothing was touching me). Very frustrating, but maze games usually are!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]