December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One

by RodRoy1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"When you came here you agreed to this game. Now you have to play it through to the end."

This is a text based game played in a browser.

Important: this game has swearing and unnerving content, you have been warned!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#49Mood3.75
#165Theme3.50
#436Overall3.08
#570Fun2.76
#640Innovation2.69
#678Humor1.85
#813Audio1.06
#908Graphics2.00

Comments

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:37pm

There are interesting ideas in this. If you want more people to rate it, may I suggest you upload it on philome.la (if you have a twitter account) or textadventures.co.uk and then come back and link it again. Or upload it anywhere else where the browser can directly open it.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Interesting idea indeed :)

atombrot says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Intense game... I liked the thoughts of when you waited with your move. That desperation. Really nice, that you put the "view alternate ending" option in. Don't know if I would have played it again for all endings.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Great use of the theme and twine to create tension and despair.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Great mood :)

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I'm usually not very much into narration-heavy games, but I did enjoy your adventure.

In the first text screen, there were some sentences that ran on too long, and broke the mood a bit. That got much better when the game switched to using short, single sentences.

I was expecting the final choice, and rather than being predictable, I was actually relieved when I got that choice. I think you played very well with the timing.

One thing that was a bit confusing in the beginning is that in many places "next" should actually be "think". In some pages you had a choice between "do something" and "next", and it was confusing what "next" was in relation to the "do something" action.

All in all I enjoyed the game a lot, thanks for it!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:03pm

it would be much better with actual random element, but the writing is seriously one of the best at this ludum. aside from obligatory mentions of loved ones. they kinda kill the immersion. when facing imminent death, people tend to be a bit more self-centered in my experience.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I enjoyed playing this game. You've managed to create such an engaging narrative that had me really gripped and wondering whether my character would make it to the end.

aeveis says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Alternating paths were nice, I lived first time.

KHANanaphone says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

Made me feel really uncomfortable, but it's not really a "game".

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:22pm

An interactive story that definitely creates a tense atmosphere! The writing is good and there are many variations in the thoughts of the protagonist but it doesn't really feel like playing a game in the usual sense...

Clayblob says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Did not work. Just a black screen.

crazyrems says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:37pm

It's a quite affordable game for non native English speakers like me. Could we call this entry as a game ?
But it contains strong narratives.

van noctar says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Interesting concept

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:07pm

This was tough.
Really well done.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I read it aloud, sitting alone in a room with nothing lit except my monitor. That was pretty darn ambient.

A simple but intense story that fits the theme well. It's definitely a situation I never hope to be in. Pretty long and deep for 48 hours. The writing is pretty good: a couple of sentences felt a bit melodramatic or clumsy, but the majority of this game is well-written. I like the font choice.

Typoes: at one point, you have "dam" instead of "damn"; "asI" should be two words; "beasts claws" should be "beast's claws".

I don't really have any other nitpicks. There's a nice balance between powerlessness and choice, and the entire thing is very powerful.


SPOILER

I like how the ending credits gave the option of seeing the other ending without having to replace the entire thing.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:47am

I don't usually play this kind of games, but yours made me play throughout. Great game.. congrats.

sekaru says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:06am

Really excellent writing and really well put together.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:32am

"Replay", even. Gotta love how I made a typo in my post while pointing out yours...

Blinked says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Boy that was intense, very well done... Also, I won :D

Grafter says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Kept me entertained! Well Done!

hibrow says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:30am

Thought provoking, emotionally engaging and immersive game. Congrats, played all threads, then found more!

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 10:24am

Thank you everyone for commenting. This project was an experiment in my writing capabilitys and i will take what you have said with me to make better storys in the future. again thanks

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]