December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fragile Soul

by Ashedragon - Jam Entry

A character who's lost his way. A goddess with a particular interest in him. He's failed at achieving his goal, but the goddess is benevolent and grants him some of her energy so that he might get a chance to accomplish his desire. But only one. His weak soul is not even a shell of his former glory--it is fragile and weak, yet ambitious and strong. Can he conquer this?
(The full story isn't even in this build why am I even)

http://s4p.us/Cp/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#98Fun(Jam)3.39
#102Audio(Jam)3.43
#109Overall(Jam)3.50
#130Mood(Jam)3.33
#133Graphics(Jam)3.80
#209Humor(Jam)2.57
#223Theme(Jam)2.89
#242Innovation(Jam)2.93

Comments

sekaru says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Great stylisation and great attention to detail. Gj!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Fantastic idea. The instant deaths were a little frustrating at first, but eventually I figured it out. Perhaps the loot and player health systems could have used some tweaking, but the game was great overall. Also, the full-screen option did not seem to work, which is a shame. Maybe I'm just doing it wrong. I clicked the little box, but nothing happened. Anyway, I'd love to see this game expanded upon.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:48am

I love the art style. Good job with this one.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16am

Nice entry ^^
Hard to get at start :p

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37am

I agree that it's got a nice style. The graphics are nice, and the game feels fairly complete. Nice job!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01am

Great style ! Like the graphics and the idea pretty much :)

kyyrma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48am

Really nice. I like the control setup, it's like a twin-stick shooter roguelike. Cool artstyle and music too!

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03am

I really like this, the mechanics are solid and its fun to play. Your use of the theme isn't very original though

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41am

Ooh, pretty! Was a bit confused about the controls at first, especially after I spawned directly next to an enemy and was killed immediately, but then it's pretty fun. :D

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:07pm

The game was a little bit too random, otherwise, its a great game. I love how I could apply my chess move skills into this XD

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:49pm

@SuperPokeunicorn: Yeah, the balance isn't right just yet and I hadn't added very many items so the generation worked at all, but thanks!

@All: Thanks for the comments and criticisms, you're all lovely!

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:46am

Nice tile-based graphics. I can't seem to get much further than a few levels in, but it's decently fun to play.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Nice job!! So much polish!! Well done ;)

insane66 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:40am

Definitely tough. Everything runs real smooth, I liked the game play, I just die soooo easy, sometimes without warning.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:30am

Nice graphics and lovely style. You did a great job !

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:54am

Not very original theme-wise, but quite fun! Far more polished than most other LD games, and seems to have a good amount of content. Very hard and sometimes cheap though, but I suppose that's typical roguelike fare.

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:47am

Nice game, got some glitches with weapon durability after restarting and the game crashed once after I picked up my second torch.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:46am

Took me some time to figure out the controls, but then I've enjoyed the game a lot! The camera movement was a bit rough though.

foumart says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:39am

Addicting game. My only complaint is about the scrolling animation when moving - it could be smoothed further.

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Yeah, the camera's not so good. I've been looking into that, but I haven't found any solutions.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Alright game, could be a little more intuitive

Kareemroks101 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Really fun and polished game! Lots of attention to detail. I didn't mind that the camera was a bit rough, it didn't take away from the gameplay at all. As for camera smoothing ideas, take a look at the camera in the framework I used for my game.

chapachapa says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:17am

Great game! It was fun to play and it actually made me play things game for awhile.
Loved the idea and the background music.

Insinical says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:44pm

very good

davisan says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Cool game and nice graphics! In the beginning it seemed difficult, but just need to waste one turn attacking then the game becomes more easier. :)

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:43am

Thank you for your positive comments and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]