December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get 1111

by funktor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move around a 1 to turn a maze of binary numbers into all the hex values in 1 minute!

I used http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata to create the music, and I used cfxr for the sound effects!

I've managed to almost get a port of this running in Dart, so expect a Web version that will replace the others soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Audio3.35
#128Theme3.58
#216Innovation3.37
#447Mood2.84
#590Overall2.90
#651Graphics2.63
#759Fun2.47
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48am

I really liked the music!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

I almost got it. Missed only the E after 4 attempts. The game is quite innovated, but I had difficulty playing for two reasons. First, the "1" you play as is not lined up with the other characters on the screen (vertically it's right between two rows) so it makes it quite difficult to figure out which row I'm interacting with, and second, the player moves really fast making it difficult to get lined up with a particular row/column when navigating the maze.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Thanks dalbinblue for pointing out the alignment issue, a last minute change was caused that so I fixed it. The very fast movement is there to stay though :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Shame for no windows or web build, Give me a buzz if you get one :D

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

I get an error that the page contains a "redirect loop" when I try to download the OS X build. Would love to give it a shot, let me know if it's back up!

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

I think I fixed the download link, let me know! Linux and Windows ports are coming in less than 24 hours!

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

The link works now! Very cool concept (for a nerdy audience at least), and a great use of the theme. The fast movement makes it really tricky, but I still played a bunch of rounds (didn't quite beat it though).

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12am

The dropbox link doesn't work for me, 404.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

Please try again, it should be good to go now.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39am

[Commenting so I can find this when Linux build comes out]

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:44am

Nice music man :) Cool colors too!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice idea and the aesthetics are cool, but I felt that the difficult of the game is based most on hard controls than on the maze itself.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Yes I agree that the game would be better with tight controls. Unfortunately I couldn't get around to it in time so I just embrace the crazy controls :D

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

The windows port is now up! Let me know if it has any issues

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Looks interesting on the screenshot. Unfortunately a dll is missing: MSVCP120.dll so I can't run it. Any suggestions what libraries are missing?

funktor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Yeah it's a visual studio related issue. I was going to fix it, but I'm almost done porting it to web which will replace both the windows and mac versions!

01rafael says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:21pm

ok. I see. mac is great. despite the fact that I'll play you geme on PC. I'll give you 5 stars.
mac guys you are the great (ironic!)

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:08am

No Support for Linux? :(

porglezomp says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I get a segfault when I try to play it here on OS X Lion.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:45am

interesting for sure. i didnt really understand what i was supposed to do though.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Nice application of the theme! I got a little better my second time through, but the pattern recognition is actually quite hard (or maybe I just need to study my binary numbers a bit more).

Nice music and SFX

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:09pm

It's kinda like the movie "Hackers" but.. good.
Meta games are always fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]